Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
94


on 3 March 2013
Wow what an amazing book!. Having ordered this for my mum I couldn't resist having a sneaky peek before giving it to her! It's brilliant! It has a lovely padded cover and there are loads of fabulous photos and of course lots of informative writing but what makes this book so different is that it has 4 pockets throughout that contain lots of lovely things! Posters from various productions, an invite for the party after the first night, set designs, costume designs, tickets, program for the original french production, props list, pages from the script, a specially produced newspaper to promote the first tour, aerial set design, jean valjeans passport, a place mat from a gala dinner... There are 20 items listed, its sooo good! A MUST have for all Les Mis fans and if you hadn't seen the film or the stage show (like me) you will definetly want to go after looking at this fab book!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2013
i am a hard core les miserable fan and this book is now my pride and joy it has everything ye want and need to know about the stage show the history and the film and lots of extra bits in it too,it will make a great presant to any one who loves the show or film i highly recomend it to any one
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2017
This book arrived promptly and was well packaged to protect it. The cover is slightly padded which gives it a luxurious feel, and can be wiped clean should there be any spills on it. Inside is a treasure trove of information. There are chapters on Victor Hugo the man, and the Paris he lived in, the development of the book to stage, features on all the main characters, the dream team and the 10th anniversary, as well as the 25th anniversary, before it's move to the silver screen. Throughout the book there are wonderful photographs as well as envelopes which contain memorabilia such as copies of posters, programmes, and stage direction notes and costume design sketches. If you are a Les Mis fan then this is the book for you. My only negative comment would b that there is no libretto, but this is only a small matter and certainly does not detract from the excellent quality of this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2013
I'm a mega-fan of the original Victor Hugo book, the stage show and now the film and so this book was a definite 'must-have'. A superb account of the book-to-show-to-screen adaptation in easy read language and scattered with faux memorabilia - tickets, stage passes, original scripts etc - just to add a bit of magic. A weighty tome that is a mini-production in itself. I love it and was thrilled to receive it as a present. As a behind-the-scenes reference book, its good. As a "this-is-how-we did-this" instruction book, its inspiring and as a reason to sit down and just go misty-eyed and ga-ga at Hugh Jackman, it's perfect! Enjoy !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2013
I got this book for mothers day - what an absolutely beautiful book!! Full of very interesting trivia about the production and full of lovely photographs. Also as a bonus are the envelopes on certain pages with costume designs, set designs and posters from the past productions.

I throughly enjoyed it, and would recommed it to anyone who has seen Les Mis either in the West End or at the cinema.

PS - Sunday dinner was very late as I was too busy reading, and not cooking!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2013
Magnificent book for any collector. I enjoy a lot buying the souvenir programme every time I go to the theatre and this book is a kind of enhanced version of them, full with very curious items which are just delightful to any fan of the musical, and it tells the History of Les Miz from the very beginning to the new film wich was recently released.
Simply fantastic!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2013
This is a beautiful book,full of photos and envelopes containing copies of stage set plans, scripts with annotations, movie set and costume designs. It is an absolute delight and I actually squealed with delight as I turned every page! The book tells the story of how the musical came to be through to the development and filming of the movie. Its a big, substantial book, almost with the feel of a photo album. Mine will take pride of place on my coffee table and will be read cover to cover. This is a must-have for any Les Mis fan and is well worth the price - a bargain at £16!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2013
Seen the show (live and on DVD). Haven't seen the film but thoroughly good book. Slight confusion as to comment on one page where it shows Hugh Jackman in the film bringing in the boat into dry dock. Caption for picture says it was done in Kent. I think it was done in the Dockyard in Portsmouth! Perhaps publishers should get their facts correct, but apart from this small irritant, the book is a must-have for all Les Mis fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2013
I had to send the first book back for a replacement as the cover was damaged in the post. I think larger packaging would protect it better. Also I had to pay over £5 to send it back and only £2.75 was refunded by Amazon.
Apart from this, I love the book, and the little treasures in the envelopes are a added bonus and a surprise. Although some might feel they are somewhat of a gimmick and would prefer a book, to be just a book.
Anyone who loves "Les Miserables" will find this a nice addition to their collection. I feel the original cost may be too high though, and the Amazon charge is a more fitting price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2015
What a beautiful book! For any Les Mis fan it is essential. The lovely facsimiles of opening night tickets, original poster, original score etc. just make it a delight to flick through. Then when you actually read the book, each chapter tells its own tale in the ongoing success that is Les Miserables. Worth every penny and a must-have for collectors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)