Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Star Wars: X-Wing: Mercy Kill
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 May 2013
Enjoyed this book, but it was slightly less riveting than those in the original set, can't wait for more though..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2015
very dull star wars novel , unoriginal with a plot that confuses itself at times and relies on fans of the X wing series to carry it , wheeling out some old faces with little development. slow paced and involving the action seems better placed in a spy movie lacking the epic scale or swashbuckling feel of star wars. by half way through I didnt care who won or who survived just as long as it ended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2013
If you are a fan of star wars literature, then this is another great book that you will want to pick up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2013
Well after reading the original X Wings novels which are great I was worried about this one and while not bad its not great either apart from one character from the X Wing past its mostly new ones and to be frank you just not interested in them you just want to read about what Voort does, sad but true the other original characters are missed its that simple.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2012
Being a long time reader of Star Wars novels and in particular really enjoying the X-Wing series, I was looking forward to this latest addition. It has been 13 years since the last Wraith Squadron title and the author has indeed managed to produce an enjoyable addition to the series.

There are some of the old faces from the previous books that we have come to know and love along with some cameos along the way. It was nice to reconnect to these older expanded universe characters. During the adventures there are some new characters that appear and some seem quite interesting but you never really get to know them apart from one. This is the one flaw for me personally in the book, that with all the new people you do not have time to ever care about them. In places it gets confusing about who is who and what their roles are. This for me took away some of the enjoyment of the book.

Plot wise, I really enjoyed the storyline but be warned it is assumed that you are up to date with events in the expanded universe. A knowledge of the Fate of the Jedi series is needed to get the most from the book. From a gripping prolouge, which seems to owe an element to the James Bond films, and through the rest of the book you are taken on an explosive, black ops journey. The humour, action and well written characters always made this series in the past an enjoyable one. In this regard Mercy Kill does not dissapoint. I found it a shame that the new characters introduced never really make much of an impact and there is not enough time to go into depth about them.

Overall I found this novel to be a good addition to the X-Wing books. Fast placed plot moves the narrative on so there is not time to get bored. Maybe this is the start of a new era of Wraith Squadron novels. I for one hope that there are more to come and the time is alloted to see more of the new characters alongside the older ones.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2014
I enjoyed the original X-Wing series at launch and they were great.
This is a decent book a good story and as always well written.
Maybe it's the fond memories but I recall the originals being more exciting with better characters.
Nevertheless a very enjoyable read.
Shame Aaron Allston can't write another now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2014
I did honestly read the reviews prior to buy this and they were all correct with a bit of a long winded start.I had forgotten that the series is now Wraith Squadron not the Rogues so until I'd got my head around no more space dogfights it all came into line.However did enjoy it,once it all got going.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2015
I came from Rogue squadron into wraith squadron and despite my sabbatical, Mercy kill still shows the Star Wars Galaxy is more than just crazy space wizards with swords. Love this book, wish the others would come out as ebooks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2015
I have always liked the Wraith Squadron books. This one seemed to run out of pages before the characters hit their stride. Still a good book which successfully avoids the trap of galaxy spanning disaster that most fall into.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2013
Just to flag up that the product synopsis for this is wrong.
THIS IS NOT THE SEQUEL TO IMPERIAL COMMANDO: 501

However this is the latest in the series for X-Wing which I've not read and where you should read other customer reviews for opinions.

Don't buy if you are looking for further adventures or Dar & Niner

but do buy if you want more of Piggy & Face.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse