Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
100
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2014
Check out my review of Mountain Higher by the same author. An indispensable, thorough guide to climbing in Europe and includes "gradient graphs" for each kilometre of climbing, features of the climb, associated history, helpful tips and information and location(s) of refreshments, etc, where available.

Excellent and a must-have guide and interesting reading even for other road users, I would venture to say
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
At £12.95, this book feels like an absolute bargain given the quality production and plethora of beautiful photos. The text is insightful and full of interesting history and anecdotes and the gradient profiles for the different routes offers easily digestible information at a glance. It is a truly motivating book, and I cannot wait to attack the ones I have not yet climbed - although some of them do look pretty terrifying !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Here is a tip, Read reviews.
I have just read a race for mad men and loved it, thought I would buy Chris Sidwells book of Tour climbs.
I read the reviews of it and then read the reviews of Mountain High.
I intend to do trips to the Alps for a secound time the Pyrenees, spain and Italy, Mountain High give's you history, loctaion, gradiants and excellent photography.
Well worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2017
Whilst a good read, and mildly interesting, ultimately it falls short of its primary purpose as a guide book. Its more like a collection of magazine articles.

The details of the climbs are average with very little detail, the maps are more like sketches and the dialogue, which is brilliant, reads like a magazine article, which is great if you're reading a magazine, but every time I return to it it lacks any real substance for the climb in question, just the authors journalistic approach to the specific climb on a specific day (he is a good journailist).

Ultimately the book fails to deliver, it needs more detail on the routes (lets be honest, there's a lot of folk need to make sure they hit the right strava section, this book will not help you), the narrative would be better off as an historic account rather than a magazine account and more information on which side to approach from and combinations of hills, milestones etc would be useful.

Basically the book is in no man's land, it falls in between practical guide book and glossy informative overview of Europe's great climbs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
Fantastic,great pictures and a wonderful insight into each stage.The details and the stories of how specific stages and tunnels were constructed is amazing.This book has impressed me so much,I have booked a holiday in the French Alps,purely to go and see some of the places in this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
"Mountain High" is every bit as good as it's Amazon description. The photography is superb, and helps an "Armchair Fan" of the Grand Tours (like me!)understand the enormity of the tasks facing Riders tackling these climbs. I'll never know for sure, but would guess that the information accompanying each climb description is invaluable to those who do them "for real".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
A really nice book. Great photos of some of the world's iconic climbs. There is lots of detail about each climb explaining why they have attained mythical status in the world of cycling. It's not just page after page of Alpine giants there are short, sharp Northern European climbs in there too. It has made me want to go and tick each one off and add to my palmares!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
My cycling bucket list has just got a lot longer. The text gives both details of the climbs and some interesting facts for each of the 50 climbs covered. Maps and gradient charts provide you with an excellent idea of what to expect if you do tackle any of these fantastic climbs. Superb photographs really brings the book to life. Pico de Veleta here I come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
An outstanding book! Beautifully illustrated and delightfully written: intelligent, witty and very informative. Historical, cultural and sporting backgrounds are woven together. The authors clearly know and love both cycling and these mountain roads. It is book that does much more than simply decorate the coffee table - though it does that well, too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2012
Really great photos and clearly written with knowledge and passion. Helps to have a copy of the 'cyclopedia' next to you when reading if you are not overly familiar with cycling terms. French to English dictionary would come in hand as well.

Really enjoyable to sit back with on the sofa with a beer after a what you thought was a hard ride!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)