Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 30 November 2012
This book met our requirements for a handy christmas present. It has excellent photos and descriptions with handy hints and explanations on how to create great digital photos. It is of good quality and gives just enough information so you can get started straight away.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
This book follows the relatively recent KF8 fixed layout standard introduced by Amazon for the Kindle devices. This means that it is not possible to increase or decrease the font size in the book as this would affect the layout / flow of the text. If you have experience with fixed layout books on Apple's iBooks, you will know it is possible to pinch-zoom books. This feature is not available in the KF8 standard. Once these limitations are understood, then the book should meet expectations.

The book is very informative containing a great deal ranging from the choice of camera through to the more technical aspects of photography. As a result, it may well not be in-depth enough for experienced photographers but should provide those starting out with a great foothold.

As the book is fixed layout, it is only compatible with colour screen Kindles at present (the Kindle Fire and the Fire HD) as well as Android tablets (and smartphones) running the Kindle app. (certain fixed layout books are available on the iOS Kindle app, but this one is not). I have viewed the book both on a Nexus 10 tablet (with a 10 inch screen) and the Samsung Galaxy SIII smartphone. On the tablet the text size is easily legible without the need to zoom. On the much smaller screen of the SIII it is possible to read the text though it is a struggle and no doubt on devices with a lower pixel density the text would be completely illegible. Double-tap zoom is available as a feature though which improves the experience on the SIII.

It is possibly also worth noting that the KF8 fixed layout standard was intended for children's books and comic book literature (according to Amazon's guidelines) and as such it is perhaps understandable that the book does not look fantastic on the smaller screens.

For £0.99 in the 12 days of Kindle, it's a total bargain though, and even as someone who is well established in photography I expect to dip into the book every-so-often.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
This book falls into the trap so many other books do, whereby they profess to pitch the book at a beginner level and then proceed on the basis of a working knowledge of photography and editing programs. For instance, there is a section in the book on how to blur backgrounds in Photoshop. In step 2 it says 'Working on the newly created layer, select the selection brush and in mask mode paint a red mask around the subject..'. I have not found the selection brush, and even if I did would not know how to paint with it in mask mode. There are many other instance of this throughout the book which for me at least renders it worthless. There are far better photography books out there which take the time to instruct properly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
Once again, Amazon lump together reviews of different products - I've no idea why, but if I wanted a review of the print edition, I'd be faced with wading through Kindle reviews, which is a pain.

There are a number of people complaining about the format of the book and I will agree that, until you get used to it, it can be a bit of a pain. When you open the book you're faced with a minute font size that can't be resized by pinching, and the orientation of the book is fixed in landscape mode. In order to make the text readable, you need to double tap on a particular paragraph, which then enlarges the relevant section of text. To move onto the next paragraph, just tap on the edge of the screen, or sweep as if you were changing pages in a "normal" Kindle ebook. When this is done, the navigation becomes a lot simpler, and I can understand why it's been done - you get an easy flick from page to page in the smaller view, then can read the book easily with the text enlarged. For me, this works well. Obviously I'm speaking from my own personal experience here, which is the Kindle app on a 7" Android tablet, owners of different devices may have a different experience. Out of curiosity, I tried the book on my Amazon for PC app, and on my Windows phone, but it wouldn't work, so if you use those devices, take care!

As to the book itself, I bought it as part of the "12 Days of Kindle" sale - I have a print copy of an earlier edition which I've enjoyed, so was keen to see what's changed. The answer is, not much! The start of the book, which is an introduction to digital photography, has been updated, but the "technique" sections further on are exactly the same. As a reference book, it's a good introduction to digital photography, and a useful reference, but an advanced user may find it too basic. Certainly it's a good buy at the sale price, but I wouldn't have bought it at full price - I prefer physical books on photography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Looks like a great book, very informative, etc, trouble is that the print is about 4 pt, therefore you need a microscope to read it on the Kindle Fire HD! No, it doesn't give you any option to increase font size or zoom, so it gets 1 star for illegibility - not for content
44 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Purchased this on the Christmas offer at £0.99. Although prc file it is ONLY readable on an Android device and hence cannot read it on PC or iPad and only on a small smartphone. This with the issue others have raised about text size and file formats make it a major disappointment. I cannot understand why an author would limit his potential readership to effectively Kindle Fire owners only, many will wish to read it on iPad or PC (accepting that it is not suitable for B&W Kindle). A major aspect of Kindle eBook was that they were readable on most devices and this move by Amazon raises serious questions as to whether they are starting to promote the Kindle Fire at expense of other platforms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Bought this as a gift for a friend who is a photographer because it was recommended to my by a tutor when I was taking a photography course. It arrived in good time and was well packaged.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
I bought it to read on a new tablet using a Kindle Ap. I am unable to magnify the pages so the text is effectively unreadable. The fault may be due to my inability to find out how to magnify or possibly a limitation with the software. either way the book is currently of little use to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
This book froze on download - twice - and seems to have a problem. Thanks to the people at Amazon I have been refunded but a copy still exists on my kindle that causes problems still. DO NOT BUY until reassured the problem(s) has been fixed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
I have had several version of this book and found them all to be straight-forward and full of excellent information for anyone interested in digital photography. Claerly laid out using straight-forward words and descriptions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)