Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 7 May 2017
This is my third Breverton book, they look lovely, feel lovely and are great for dipping in and out of and learning useful (or useless?) snippets...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 3 July 2016
For once with the long, long title
Breverton's Encyclopedia of Inventions: A Compendium of Technological Leaps, Groundbreaking Discoveries and Scientific Breakthroughs that Changed the World fully deserves the full title.
It is simply a brilliant book.

It has been the third of a wonderful trio of books by the talented Mr Breverton.

As good as Brevertons-Nautical-Curiosities and Brevertons-Phantasmagoria-Compendium and that is praise indeed.
Breverton's Nautical Curiosities: A Book of the Sea
Breverton's Phantasmagoria: A Compendium of Monsters, Myths and Legends

Mr Breverton has turned his attention and skills to the Scientific World.
Contained in this book is a fabulous history of scientific breakthroughs along with Terry’s pithy and apt comments.

I really enjoy these sort of books but this has to be one of the finest I have ever had the pleasure of discovering.
In each of its 384 pages it has dozens of amazing facts and information.
Not a single page is wasted including the index.

I pride myself on being well read which is short hand for being an know all but I can honestly state hand on heart that over 80 per cent of the facts and figures were new- and so dammed fascinating in reading them - new to me.

The closest I can get to how good it is that it is a written version of televisions QI.

It is well written. This is not a glib phrase I use but I really mean that the author Terry Breverton has really written the book very well indeed.

The book covers everything to do with Scientific breakthroughs and those who made them.
From the ancient world it was wonderful to see the shift from the European Continent to Great Britain and the fantastic inventors and discoverers.
Then there is the inevitable shift to the Americans.

It is easy to see and agree with Mr Bill Bryson that the American inventions are slewed towards items that make life easier. Things like dishwashers, microwaves and household items that save labour.
The massive American Home market and consumerism seems to have given the impetus just as the Industrial revolution did for the British.

Terry Breverton has that fabulous knack of writing informative books that educate and entertain.

You can read from cover to cover or just dip into as and when.

This really is a desert island book. Because it is simply is a wonderful book that is a joy to read.

If you have any relative or friend that is one of those people who love to dip in and out of a book then this s the book for them.
Recommended 100 per cent.

Thank You For Reading.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 3 July 2016
For once with the long, long title
Breverton's Encyclopedia of Inventions: A Compendium of Technological Leaps, Groundbreaking Discoveries and Scientific Breakthroughs that Changed the World fully deserves the full title.
It is simply a brilliant book.

It has been the third of a wonderful trio of books by the talented Mr Breverton.

As good as Brevertons-Nautical-Curiosities and Brevertons-Phantasmagoria-Compendium and that is praise indeed.
Breverton's Nautical Curiosities: A Book of the Sea
Breverton's Phantasmagoria: A Compendium of Monsters, Myths and Legends

Mr Breverton has turned his attention and skills to the Scientific World.
Contained in this book is a fabulous history of scientific breakthroughs along with Terry’s pithy and apt comments.

I really enjoy these sort of books but this has to be one of the finest I have ever had the pleasure of discovering.
In each of its 384 pages it has dozens of amazing facts and information.
Not a single page is wasted including the index.

I pride myself on being well read which is short hand for being an know all but I can honestly state hand on heart that over 80 per cent of the facts and figures were new- and so dammed fascinating in reading them - new to me.

The closest I can get to how good it is that it is a written version of televisions QI.

It is well written. This is not a glib phrase I use but I really mean that the author Terry Breverton has really written the book very well indeed.

The book covers everything to do with Scientific breakthroughs and those who made them.
From the ancient world it was wonderful to see the shift from the European Continent to Great Britain and the fantastic inventors and discoverers.
Then there is the inevitable shift to the Americans.

It is easy to see and agree with Mr Bill Bryson that the American inventions are slewed towards items that make life easier. Things like dishwashers, microwaves and household items that save labour.
The massive American Home market and consumerism seems to have given the impetus just as the Industrial revolution did for the British.

Terry Breverton has that fabulous knack of writing informative books that educate and entertain.

You can read from cover to cover or just dip into as and when.

This really is a desert island book. Because it is simply is a wonderful book that is a joy to read.

If you have any relative or friend that is one of those people who love to dip in and out of a book then this s the book for them.
Recommended 100 per cent.

Thank You For Reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2012
This is an amazing book. Invaluable to those seeking the origin of a multitude of inventions.
Excellent bedtime reading, or use it as a text book.Great!!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Really interesting facts, a must for the bookcase. Tend not to want to put it down. It has something for everyone.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 April 2013
This is a most extraordinary find. If, in fact you were looking for it, whatever "it" is, its there! Almost every important invention is noted here. The time and research alone is to amazing to contemplate!

Think of archery - where and how was it invented/used and how did it change us from throwing rocks to spears to using a long bow? - an entertaining account of 3000 BC archers will illuminate your mind! Central heating - what a brilliant idea and where would be without it today but were the Romans the first to invent it? Check it out.

This is a great book to have on hand to answer your children/grandchildren's incessant questions on where does it come from? How was it made? Great book - A Must have bookshelf item. Breverton's Encyclopedia of Inventions: A Compendium of Technological Leaps, Groundbreaking Discoveries and Scientific Breakthroughs that Changed the World
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Read a couple of these books now and I am a fan ! Really enjoy the bite-size information format. A great book to pick up and put down at your leisure. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
Spot on present for my nephew who is into this type of thing. Hope he loves it as I do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2016
Superb book, kept my hubbie quiet for a few days. He thinks Brevertons books are such fun - we now are onto his pirate books. Lovely cover, hardbacked and relialbe printing. I love books never read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
A comprehensive listing of technological innovation. Accessible to KS3 and 4 readers. A useful guide and reference work for the library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)