Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Exclusive playlist - Elton John Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2013
If you have bought the previous two books then there if nothing new inside this book apart from the designs. I have all three books and have so far made 8 designs in total. The main thing to know is that tracing off the designs from the patterns will take ages, and most are enormous. You trace of several parts of the pattern and then stick them togather to form a big pattern and then cut out your fabric. I found the images and instructions to be very good, if I was unsure about anything or unclear, having a good look at the final images usualy helped. The garments are put together in a very factory like way, which will appeal to the beginner. The end garments are really good, although some of the dresses can be tricky to put together. If you've never worked in jersey before I would say go slow and stay calm as the bindings can be tricky. The sizes come up quite small, I'm a size 10, and 5 foot 6, and used the L-XL patterns, and some of those are a bit tight. All in all, its a really good book, just be aware its a job tracing the patterns off before you've even started sewing, so don't think you can just make one of the complicated dresses in half a day, it took me a full day and I cut and sew for a living!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
I absolutely love the drape drape series of books. This one is on par and I intend on making every single garment in the series. The sizes are generous. I fit incredibly comfortably into the large size (of the book sizes) and I am a UK 16 dress size.
The hardest part is drafting the pattern from the pattern pieces (it can be tedious) but you will be so happy with the result. promise!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Bought this for my mum because she LOVES making her own clothes. She absolutely loved this book, it goes into a lot of detail and have template cutouts inside to guide you through the process
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
I bought all 3 Drape Drape pattern books after seeing the asymmetric one piece blouse in the final of Great British Sewing Bee (it is in DD2). I have chosen 6 garments that I want to make this summer over the three books and if you only buy one I would go for DD2. Be aware that the sizing is for the Japanese market. They provide S M L and XL and my size 12 frame needs the XL!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2015
What can I say about the drape series that hasn't already been said...beautiful patterns....a degree in construction engineering...but I brought this with a view to working through it once I had refined my pattern drafting & making skills
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
If you have the other Drape Drape books it's more or less the same as the others, it'll allow you to think of cutting and making new ways but for a creative it's just opening the door to expanding the mind. I have a few books like this and felt it was OK but not mind blowing. If your a creative you have most likely made something like what's in the book. But it's cheeps so worth the buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
Love this book and it was available at a great price, much more expensive any where else. Fab book with patterns
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
Yet another Fanastic Drape Drape book! ;) Will be working my way through it as soon as i can ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
I am pleased with the patterns in the book, and very helpful instructions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
need ti have different patterns in different colours
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.56

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)