Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
43
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2015
Great book didn't want to put it down spoilt only by his use of "posh" words that didn't quite fit with the rest of the book as if he was trying to be someone he wasn't, but a great and honest account of fire fighting in 70s.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
I found the authors accounts of incidents to be written well enough and he is modest enough in detailing the exploits of his colleagues rather than those of himself. My one "gripe", if that's the right word, concerns Mr Grice's concentration on major fires/incidents from his time as a fireman. Whilst these are necessary for inclusion in any book of this kind I would also have preferred a chapter or two on the mundane day-to day life of a London fireman in the 70's, and the various types of non-emergency fires/incidents attended by the Brigade over the course of a year. That said, this book would a useful addition to the collection of those who, like myself, have an interest in the history and work of the Fire Brigade.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
Excellent once you start you have to keep reading.I knew the Author well whilst in the London Fire Brigade and he has been honest in his observations and the Chapter on New York Firefighters was good I wonder how they would deal with the Health and Safety at Work act out there.Enjoy your retirement Mr Grice good read and good value for money compared with other books similar on sale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
A very personal account of a young provincial fireman's life after he had transferred to the capitals busy fire brigade at a time when calls and incidents were at an all time high. So well written that you believe that you are with him every step of the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
The Kindle edition contains photographs.

Here is the autobiography of a front line fireman whose career stretched across the mid 20th century, going from a time when the ability to eat smoke was paramount through to the introduction of the first Health and Safety legislation and the changes that brought to operating practices.

It is a career full of stories, heroism and tragedy which unfold across the pages. At times the prose is a bit laboured and the conversations are recalled in a way that can seem stilted when being read.

When I saw that the book contained a section on the Moorgate tube disaster I was anticipating a detailed account of the real difficulties faced by the rescuers over a period of days from someone who was there first hand. To my mind Moorgate was only dealt with at a relatively high level and there was no detailed explanation of how the fire crews cut their way through to all the casualties using the equipment they had at the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
As a retired fire officer who trained at the L.F.B in 1971 it brought back memories. The author is so right that the Health and Safety has damaged the Fire Service beyond recognition. Read it to see how firemen used to deal with incidents.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
For anyone that has been in the service or for the curious onlooker, this is a must read, gritty, honest and down to earth...very well scripted and comes across as a most fantastic read. Well worth the money, and to both Allan and his crews, you have my respect and thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
A very good read, brought back many old memory's of wheeled escapes, Proto sets, belts and axes and Men in black. But sadly some not to good memory's of many fatal fires and of Moorgate, where like the author I spent two days and two night tours as part of an Emergency Tender crew.

You do not have to be a Firefighter to read and enjoy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
My husband said this book was 100% fact as he was stationed at Tottenham on white watch during the 1960, he could not put it down. He says every story was spot on and it brought back to him the times when everyone felt that you could rely on the whole crew to be behind you and the public held you in great respect and you felt proud to be seen out in your uniform. (unlike today). It also brought back memories to him of beating other stations onto their ground and yet still that special feeling and respect for each other remained. (well done and well written Guv)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
As somebody who has as ways be interested in the Fire Brigade I was looking forward to reading this. And It did not disappoint.
Once I started it I could not put it down.
How thing have moved on with in the service. And what about "Health & Safety"!!
A great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)