Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
40
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 2012
I would like to give this book ten stars and not just five!! Mr Pincher examines this story in exhaustive detail,
and he provides and great amount of startling new evidence. He puts the "experts" (I mean the historians) to shame.
Was Sir R....r H....s a Soviet spy? Read this extraordinary book and you will be left in no doubt whatsoever!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2012
Massive 620 page book! Pincher has compiled a slamming indictment against the head of MI5 Hollis and MI5 itself. The only thing to add is that there is so much smoke and mirrors in the spy game that I cannot tell how true all this is. That said, the evidence points at Hollis being a GRU spy, and that that was the opinion of several other agencies. Worth a read if you like spy books.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2009
Anyone interested in cold war espionage this book is a must. Written by one of the UK's acknowledged experts
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Chapman Pincher's excellent book Treachery ends the arguments about Arthur Hollis, the plot against Harold Wilson, the Blunt cover up and Margaret Thatcher's statements to Parliament. It is the definitive work on espionage resulting from a lifetime's study of the subject by an author acquainted with most of the players. References and sources are plentiful and conjecture is kept to the minimum. A must read book for historians and students of human nature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Densely-packed with information, and the best-researched exposition of the case to be answered by those few who now believe Hollis was totally innocent of pro-Soviet sympathies, even if the truth can never be full proved one way or the other.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
I have recently read a number of books regarding MI5, MI6 & the Cold War but this is without doubt the most compelling.

It's a big book & it took me some time to get into it, however I strongly recommend that you persist as it well worth the effort.

Once Pincher had started to build up a picture of Roger Hollis I was absolutely gripped & desperate to find out more.

There is still some controversy regarding Pincher's theory that Hollis was a Soviet mole, but given the overwhelming weight of circumstantial evidence outlined here it's possible only that Hollis was either completely incompetent (& his every mistake just happened to help the Soviet Union), or he really was the GRU's most illustrious spy ever.

I suggest you read this book & make up your own mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
Chapman, being a journalist, makes for easy reading of a very shameful episode in our history.
Everyone should read this and understand how those from a wealthy, religious or highly educated
background were able to become traitors.
It an excellent read which I thoroughly recommend..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
Chapman Pincher has been intimate with the inner workings of the Security Services for as long as I remember, having originally been brought to my attention by my, long dead, father. Much of the stuff has been covered before, and it is a catalogue of hubris, delusion and incompetence. Just because of the length of time much that was formerly speculation (or insider knowledge)has now been confirmed by released documents from both sides of the Iron Curtain.

It is a work of mammoth endeavour and takes some reading. As expected it illustrates how poorly we are often served by the organs of the state, aided and abetted by generations of politicians. One might hope it was a story of yesteryear, but with dodgy dossiers, Blair, Campbell, polonium poisoning and glamorous escorts to present politicians, nothing is different. Plus ca change!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
Anyone with an interest in Cold War politics and history would most certainly learn something from "Treachery". It gives an insight of the literal struggle by MI5 to continue doing its work while some of those who were trusted, Roger Hollis, most of all cynically undermined its efforts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
A well written book in the authors opinion Sir Roger Hollis is guilty . Will the true facts ever be known this I doubt unless the secret files from the Eastern Bloc become available. Being a young boy in the 1960s I was aware that great things were happening especially with the Cold War
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)