Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2012
Tim Freke's 'The Mystery Experience' is a book to dazzle and delight anyone with an interest in spirituality and 'practical' philosophy. And that's just what Tim gives us: penetrating insight into the heart of mysticism, leavened by humour and a touchingly human approachability that is quite exceptional in authors within this genre.

The book is practical because it's not simply an inspired dissection of ancient and contemporary spirituality; it's also a 'how to' manual that gives many simple, direct exercises from Tim's own experience to help us discover for ourselves the 'Big Love' of which he writes. Big Love is, of course, none other than the sense of all-embracing connectedness and Oneness that spirituality has identified for thousands of years. 'The Mystery Experience', however, is a new kind of spiritual road map that takes us in an entirely unexpected direction. Tim Freke is one of the very first (at least in this reviewer's opinion), to make a convincing and 'livable' link between experiencing the vastness of impersonal Oneness whilst simultaneously expressing ourselves as flesh and blood, individual human beings in the mundane world.

'The Mystery Experience' is an eminently readable book of great insight. Intellectually deft, practical and funny. But don't just read it: do as the title suggests, and simply experience it.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2012
Googling "The Paralogical Alternative" produces one, and only one, result: `The Mystery Experience' - but it won't be the sole response for long. This expression will be followed by many similar efforts to expound the ground-breaking, the incredible originality of the connections explored by Tim Freke in this, his most recent journey of the intellect. He has coined this expression as a new, indeed revolutionary, way of looking at a paradox that is at once as old as history itself and as new as particle physics - `the objective world and the subjective self co-exist and create each other'. The nature of reality.

After his introduction, the journey (as it always must be) passes through four stages starting with the wider world view and gradually, gently, taking the reader into themselves and their everyday lives. The entire process is most beautifully set out, simply but profoundly expressed. Tim includes a significant extent of hypothetical Socratic style exchanges between various figures and the wonderfully but pejoratively named `Clever' Dick. It's a device that works very well particularly where the subject is both scientific and spiritual - the exchanges between Dick and Uncle Albert (Einstein) being particularly memorable.

Tim also addresses in the most understandable way the two (dual?) aspects of duality: the physical attributes of wave/particle duality and the meta-physical attributes of oneness and separateness - C G Jung's "no reality without polarity". This greater duality illustrates to perfection the Neo-Platonic view about the inter-connectivity of all things - the `Catena Aurea' or Golden Chain.

`The over-all number of minds is just one' said Erwin Schroedinger who went on to `call it indestructible since mind is always now. There is no before and after, only a now that includes memories and expectations'. He continued `I also grant that I am now talking religion, not science - a religion, however, not opposed to science, but supported by what disinterested scientific research has brought to the fore'.

What is so fascinating about `The Mystery Experience' is not so much that it includes anything new or revolutionary but that it considers `connections' in a refreshingly different yet comprehensive and, perhaps more importantly, readily comprehendible form. This book is essential reading for those people - `People Like Us' - who comprise the vast, and often silent, majority and who are really not satisfied that either religion or science can ever have all the answers. A warning though - there is nothing here for fundamentalists, whether religious or secular. Vehement fundamentalism is a product of an ossified mind, both closed and unthinking. But how many minds out there are truly closed? Very, very few - fewer than might appear from their verbal posturings that usually merely conceal a need to control: `The Will to Power'. Avoid them and read this book!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Decent introduction to non duality beliefs where Tim accepts life is a mystery and not understood . He pushes his retreat weekends too expensive for many in my opinion. For those new to spirituality this is a decent philosophical discussion for beginners though tends to ignore the problems arising in life painting a rosy picture instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
This book is gold dust. This book will certainly change your life.

In over 20 years of reading just about every non-duality book going, this is the first one that bridges the gap between spiritual perfection and human reality.

Tim's application of the "both/and" paralogical approach solves the puzzle of why these two apparent polar opposites are in fact one manifestation, seen two ways. Drawing on many real life and scientific examples of why and how things are not quite how they appear or are believed to be, Tim provides the reader with his passionate loving guidance towards seeing the reality of "both/and" for themselves. The recognition that we are both pure awareness and wonderful beautiful grubby little humans.

For so many folks contemporary non-duality teachings appear cold and heartless and offer little or no explanation or relevance to the ups and downs of human existence. This is why so many feel so let down after they leave a spiritual retreat and find that it has given them nothing to deal with the reality of their lives.

Tim shows us how to embrace and love our grubby humanness as a wonderful manifestation of reality living itself as us and through us and to actually see and experience both as what you are. We are all BOTH pure awareness AND grubby humans all of the time, not sometimes, but always - 24/7.

The best way to experience this is to attend one of the Mystery Retreats to actually do some of the exercises Tim describes in the book with other people and to feel the big love, because that is something that will change your life the minute you leave the retreat and change the way you see the world, other people and yourself.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
From page 31: "Paradoxically, when I'm deep awake and immersed in the deep mystery, I find myself knowing something." When I read this sentence, and many others like it, I find myself knowing something, namely that I should not have bought this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2012
Trying to write a review of this book, is a bit like trying to describe the mystery experience. The words that come to mind just won't do.

In this book, more than any I have ever read, the author succeeds in making the deepest truths appear as simple as taking a walk in the park. How he does this, I have no idea. But he had done it so well, using a myriad array of literary styles and devices, that something of the wonder has infused me, leaving me just a little bit speechless.

It's certainly a wise book, an honest book, an entertaining book, a serious book, a humorous book, a kind book, and a book full of wonder and love.

All I can say right now is that you should buy it and let it change you and your life for the better. I know for sure that you won't ever experience life in the quite the same way again.

Books like this don't come round too often, and when they do, we should be grateful. Thank you!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2012
This book is truly a tremendous achievement.
It is profound yet simple to follow.
It is serious yet light hearted.
And it is in every sense of the word 'wonderful'.
I love the way Tim communicates. He does not simply
write on a blank page, he takes your hand and guides you gently
through a journey. With this book the travels lead to the WOW.
I cannot recommend this book enough!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
If you find traditional ways of coming back to the real you are not working for you this book is exactly what you need. You will see very clearly that you don't need to be something special to experience the awakening state. You don't need to retreat to remote places or a monastery to be able to be awake. Tim explains why it is very important to embrace both your humanity and Higher Self. How to live in peace with ego and the "darkness" in you. With his amazing sense of humour he brings spirituality and science together. In this book Tim shows the similarity in what the different religions say about awakening. And most important you will find simple practices to help you safely enter what he calls "deep awake", as well as his own experience of the awakened state and how it affects his everyday life. This book is based on his own experience of leading "mystery experience retreats" where people from different backgrounds and spiritual practices or totally new to awakening are able to "dive into the mystery".
I've been to a number of these retreats and every time had amazing experience of being Love and Peace and hope you can experience it for yourself.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
The book is so beautiful. It will expand and enchance your experience of really 'being alive'.
I am a fan of Tim Freke, he is generous and genuine with his writing. The mystery experience takes the reader on a journey to experience - deep love and unity with yourself and others.

Now that is a good thing! Try it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2012
I've lost count of the number of spiritual books that I have read, must be hundreds. Tim Freke's The Mystery Experience is definitely in my top ten list of the best books to read. The reason for this is that the book resonates with my own conclusions about the spiritual journey - that there is a great mystery at the heart of our being. Instead of experiencing the angst that comes from trying to solve the mystery, embrace it, live with the uncertainty. There lies freedom.

The other aspect of this book that I love is the idea of paralogic, where two apparently contradictory ideas are seen to be equally true. For a while I was interested in the teachings of non duality, which appears to point to there being no self. If you accept this then there can be a denial of the personal self. Things just arise, just happen, there is no doer, no one who chooses. Whilst everyday experience seems to contradict this, some non dualists cling to the no self approach. In non duality circles, there is the duality of those who say there is no self and those who say there is a a self. Tim Freke ponts to another way, the paralogic way where there is both the self and the non self. Quantum physics has shown that light can be a wave and particles which logically is impossible. Yet experiments show that it is true. This is another example of paralogic.

I believe the Mystery Experience is a must read for all spiritual seekers. It blows away a lot of the half truths and misdirections found in the works of many spiritual teachers. It is also an entertaining and often funny read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)