Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2007
I've just been given this as a gift and am looking forward to sitting down for a good read. Even browsing through I can see it has an enormous amount of fascinating information and history, and so many beautiful photos of the present and the past. I especially appreciate the early photos of places like Fair Isle - wonderful faces! - and the information about edible seaweeds. I can see it's not for botanists wanting a volume full of dry details about plants, but for everyone else, it's a treasure trove.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2005
I totally loved this book. As the review says ... it is about people and plants, how people have used plants historically and up to the present day in Scotland. It is beautifully presented and easy to read. I recommend it to anyone who has an interest in plants and their evolution with people.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2005
This is a truely superb book. It is endlessly readable, and clearly based on serious long-term research and a real passion for what is a fascinating subject. Moreover, it has been beautifully produced into a book to treasure.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
This is a really fascinating, fabulously written and produced book. For anyone interested in Scotland, it will provide hours of
enlightenment. The pictures are execeptional.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
Full of interesting lore and facts about plants and flowers. Hard to use for quick reference as you end up diverted...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
A great book for anyone interested in Celtic Ethnobotany
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2017
Great book, delivery good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2005
Having loved the Flora Britannica book that came out a few years back, I was excited at the thought of a book entirely devoted to Scotland that would be able to explore scottish flora in greater depth. I was rather disappointed to find too much emphasis is given to the present day and to people, at the expense of the plants, rather than a complementary balance being struck. It's as if the confidence wasn't there to really go in depth into the subject, and the whole effect is of a high quality school study book rather than a glorious reference book that really cares about the subject it sets out to cover. There's such a book waiting to be written, but this isn't it. Sorry!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)