Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
38
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 10 May 2017
This is a great little book and the recipes are so easy- I would recommend this a a fun book to use!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 August 2015
A fun, different little book that can provide a good introduction to the haggis for the innocent and make the more experienced haggis muncher equally interested.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2017
One haggis, two haggis, three haggis - a wee book for those who like haggis, or the ones, who want to start to like haggis. This is not a recipe book on how to prepare haggis, but a little book with ideas how to serve the haggis in a variety of ways. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
The Haggis Bible, by Jo Macsween, is a brilliant read as well as highly informative. I've had many a Burns supper and found that while the tatties and neeps are 'ok' (with lots of butter, salt and pepper) the haggis was usually disappointing. BUT... after tasting Jo's haggis canapes, alongside an authentic Spanish rioja, my mind and taste-buds have been changed forever. I am keen to try out Jo's recipes and I certainly won't be waiting for Burns night!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
The Macsween Haggis Bible is a great read with easy to follow recipes. I was given the book as a gift and it has been enlightening - who knew you could make Haggis Tostadas? The haggis pakora went down a treat with my friends and the illustrations, little stories and facts are delightful. A lovely little book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
As an Englishman I never realised what I was missing until I opened Jo Macsween's book two weeks ago. In the past I had been to several Burns Night dinners and enjoyed haggis, but I always thought that it was like Christmas Pudding-something to be eaten ceremonially once a year and definitely only in the company of Scots. Jo Macsween has made me realise that haggis is in fact a wonderful and highly versatile food-in fact one of the best features of this book is that it shows how many familiar dishes can be enhanced with haggis-haggis toasties, haggis lasagne, haggis nachos were some of my favoruites, whilst haggis benedict can only be described as magnificent. Bob Dewar's illustrations are great fun too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
The legend that is the Haggis is brought to life with this amazing little bible. No more will you be left unknowing about Scotland's National dish. It's a must for all Scot's and others who can now speak with authority on what is recognised around the world as Scotland's national dish without really knowing its past, present and future.

Jo Macsween has shed much light where there has been for so long darkness. A great wee book!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
As a big haggis fan I obviously love this book. The recipes are great and so easy to follow - from the traditional haggis and clapshot (which I didn't know how to make, having recently left home) to the haggis ravioli, Scottish toad in the hole and haggis pakora!
It's a great book for those less convinced about haggis as well - even my very skeptical American friends loved the stuffed red peppers and are looking forwards to haggis nachos. The foreword 'Haggis myths and mysteries' alone is a fascinating read, with loads of background information about haggis and Macsween.
A lovely book to read and wonderful recipes to enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
This is by far the best bible I have come across so far. It is both tastier and shorter than the King James Version, and has better pictures than the Good News. And Scotland features much more frequently than in other versions. All in all, John Knox would be proud...and slightly plumper...and happier.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
This slim, pocket-sized bible is more Revelation than Leviticus. It's personal and spirited, genuinely informative, boldly visceral and, most importantly of all, appetising. It's Haggis as you've never read about it before, promising hours of fun in the kitchen and new and surprising experiences on the palate. The perfect gift for the cook who thinks s/he knows everything.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)