Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
Churchill and Empire
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 22 September 2014
Even though I have read more than a dozen books of and about Churchill, I got some new interesting historical information from this book. It is very well written. It is especially interesting seeing that Churchill's official biographer, Sir Martin Gilbert, did not, to my knowledge, write a special book like this - which is perhaps understandable. The book is a thorough work, as usual from the 'pen' of Lawrence James.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2013
This is beautifully written, by a skilled historian. I remember some of the events to which he refers. And more importantly, I recognise many of the attitudes and 'givens' which were instilled in us in the immediate post-Churchillian period. A thoroughly excellent read, highly informative
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2014
An interesting and well written book about Churchill and his relationship with the Empire. It was to be a long and enduring love from Churchill's perspective anyway, but as with any passionate relationship it certainly had its storms and tensions.The narrative covers Churchill's first contact with Empire as a young cavalry officer till his final hurrah as the aged statesman. What remains consistent throughout this time was Churchill's passionate love of empire and his desire to maintain it. In general the book portrays Churchill in a positive and favourable light. However it also highlights the ambiguities and contraditctions of both the British Empire and Churchill's views on it. Nor does it hide from the racial prejudice associated with Empire nor Churchill's own racial views and predjudces.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2017
I found this to be an extremely informative book which filled in many gaps in my knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2014
An excellent book for readers of recent history. I found that it gave me fresh insights into the events of last century and particularly Churchill's part in them and I would be surprised if it did not have a similar effect on most readers. It is not without relevance today either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2015
Excellent price for a new hardback edition. A very resistant parcel, the book arrived in perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2015
"Churchill and Empire". Both the same thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2014
Well-written text but I wish I could remember more about it. It seems a long time ago
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)