Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
41
4.4 out of 5 stars
Send Me Safely Back Again (Napoleonic Wars 3)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 September 2017
A good read on the subject of the life of a junior officer during the Peninsular War
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
as above
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
This series about the 'Gentlemen Volunteers',is becoming very interesting.I find the thoughts and insight very intriguing.I would definitely recommend theie to anyone who enjoys Napoleonic battle books!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
I really enjoyed this story in the series, it does seem to get better with every read. I'm enjoying Williams, Pringle, Hanley et al. The attention to detail is superb. The language of the era comes through too which adds dimensions.

David Cook, author of Liberty or Death (The Soldier Chronicles Book 1) and Heart of Oak (The Soldier Chronicles Book 2)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 August 2012
Review:
I don't think anyone can ever accuse Adrian Goldsworthy of getting his facts wrong, it would take a brave man to even attempt it. Why? Who is Adrian Goldsworthy? (from Author Bio)
Adrian Keith Goldsworthy is a British historian and author who specialises in ancient Roman history. Goldsworthy attended Westbourne School, Penarth. After studying ancient and modern history at St John's College, Oxford, he completed a D.Phil in ancient military history from Oxford University in 1994, and then used his dissertation as the foundation of his first book, The Roman Army at War 100 BC - AD 200. Goldsworthy was a Junior Research Fellow at Cardiff University for two years, and he has taught briefly at King's College London and was an assistant professor on the University of Notre Dame's London programme for six years.

What i have seen written is that the story can be slow or tired, or overly picky on detail. I personally don't get that. I have enjoyed all three books in this series so far. I really enjoy the likable realistic characters, the camaraderie and the pace of the plot. Put all of this in a time period made mainstream by and dramatic by the fantastic Bernard Cornwell and for me you have a winner of a series. (do not read if you intend to just compare to Sharpe, its not sharpe, its its own series and in its own way as fun action packed and can stand with its head held high.
So come follow Hanley again as he takes a turn in a different war a dirtier war.

Highly recommend this series

(Parm)

The third novel in the series sees new challenges for the men of the 106th Foot, as the British army attempts to recover from the disaster of Corunna and establish a foothold in the Peninsula. Featuring the battles of Medellin and Talavera, the 106th will have their mettle severely tested on the battlefield. But if Napoleon is to be ejected from Spain, war must also be waged in more covert ways. For Hanley, the former artist who is a more natural observer than fighter, the opportunity to become an 'exploring officer' leads him into even more dangerous territory, the murky world of politics and partisans. And while Ensign Williams seeks to uncover the identity of the mysterious 'Heroine of Saragossa', a conspiracy of revenge within the regiment itself threatens to destroy him before he's even faced a shot from the French.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
Great novelist in the style of Bernard Cornwell. Thoroughly enjoyed the read and for anyone interested in a novel based around the Napoleonic, would recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
I love this period of history and Goldsworthy's books are developing into a compelling series with characters being penned that the reader really cares about.... with the exception of the Wickham character. It was an interesting idea to have the Austen character appear in the first book but it's about time he was done away with as he seems more of a distraction now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
good fictional account of Peninsular warfare, excellent battle descriptions but a bewildering array of characters, with the storyline switching between them with sometimes disturbing frequency, but still a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
I liked the book because it was based on the Peninsular War. But I found the love aspect too much and not required. The passages of the action are too complicated and are confusing. The characters are well defined, but a bit hard to belief that these young innocent boys/men are given that much responsibility without any real training as officers. I think as the series grows the books will improve as the characters learn their trade.
A good read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Another solid characterfull history lesson told with conviction. A bit too much on the romantic sub plotting but not too much standard Gore. Enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse