Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 18 December 2017
Could do with more detail, I needed more info on the polishing side of things. This is like a background guide to rather than a complete guide to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2015
A terrific book, nicely written and illustrated by vastly experienced people who obviously know the subject inside out. Should possibly have been titled 'The Complete Guide to Repairing and Restoring Antique Furniture' though. The author focusses heavily on antique pieces, without even a nod to modern constructions - there's no mention of laminations or other non solid timber materials. As a newbie to restoration I was looking for something to give me a broad strokes view of the subject, but this is mainly concerned with repair and restoration of potentially quite valuable pieces I wouldn't dare go near. There's a vast amount of useful information here, and it's an enjoyable and informative read. If your interests lie in furniture made in the 18th or 19th century, you will find this a very useful reference. If you are new to the subject and looking for a complete guide, or have interests in more modern pieces, you may be disappointed.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2005
The photography and explanations in this book are brilliant. I'm not an experienced woodworker, and yet this book gives me the confidence to tackle things I didn't think were possible - let alone within my reach. Even if you're not into actual restoration, this book is great to see how quality furniture is, and was, constructed.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2017
Perfect for a beginner.
Lots of good photos and easy to read.
Has been used so not perfect but still ok.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2016
Delivered quickly - as described. Thanks
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2013
Thank you. This book will be very helpful tome in the work that I am learning. Thanks again.
Gail Houston
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2003
Finally a book everybody in the restorationtrade should own! Fantastic photographs on every step of the work to be done,clear no nonsense descriptions. If you buy only one book on the subject,this should be the one!!
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2004
Clear, concise and detailed steps with excellent photography. If you want to undertake Restoration or Repair then this book delivers. Fabulous!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2015
WOW. This book is excellent. It covers in details everything anyone wants to know about restoration or conservation, wood or metal. Mostly wood which is the reason why i bought it, as i have a chair i want to restore. A bible more like it, it has a great section about cleaning, tecqniques and also upholstery. You won't be disappointed if you are a beginner and need a guide to start, it also has some projects at the end too ambitious for me but for the apprentice or student great to do. I recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2013
I bought this originally to learn how to restore a set of Victorian dining chairs, but my first copy got damp and all the pages stuck together so I had to get another. It's an excellent bible for the novice upholsterer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)