Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2015
So far I've made two recipes from this book and they were both lovely. I'm one of these people who has to follow recipes exactly as I'm not brilliant at cooking, this book was perfect for me unlike other recipe books I've followed that have turned out to be a disaster, which is not great if your using expensive ingredients. So far I've made Slow-roasted lamb shoulder with anchovy, Rosemary-crushed butter beans and braised shallots (honestly this was gorgeous, couldn't believe I could make such a lovely meal) and the other meal was the Pancetta, broad bean and chicken broth with Fideo (used spaghetti for Fideo) so easy to do and tastes great. Try this book you won't be disappointed. Lovely.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
I was inspired by Ash's recipes and his passion for the Basque cuisine throughout Masterchef. Thanks to this book I know I'll be tasting a lot of these recipes too.

Don't be put off by comments about the book itself. I waited to see what it looked like before ordering it and then wondered what on earth all the fuss was about - it's perfectly easy to read and simple to follow.

Ash was a triumph on the show and is now a triumph in print.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
Well my son and I actually cooked before we reviewed the book unlike JR Sollars. A simple dish of Grilled octopus with oregano potatoes and smoked paprika. p110. Deeeeelish!!! I'm trying to convince the wife to have Paella with Quail, mushrooms and jamon serrano for our christmas dinner as it sounds quite festive to me :)
A very classy heavy book that speaks volumes of quailty (great pun if I say so myself)
Hazelnut turron and dark chocolate parfait!!!!!! 'Popular around Christmas time in Spain' this book just gets better and better. A great xmas present if you can wait that long.
A must buy.....we got ours as a gift. Highly recommended.
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
Christmas came early in our house as we are travelling away for the holidays this year, meaning that I opened my gift copy of this book as soon as it arrived. It's wonderful - both Ash and his recipes are an inspiration. Spanish food has been a bit of a mystery until now, and this book has really opened my eyes to how sublime it can be. If you only buy one cookery book this Christmas, make it this one. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
I have loads of cooking books, from Jamie to Nigella. Most of them are a bit too amateurish for my liking.
This book combines the perfect balance between recipes easy enough to make in 15 minutes or something so impressive that made it to my Xmas dinner table.
If you know your way inside a kitchen and want to improve to that next level to impress and eat magnificent food in the process then this is the book you should buy.
I read the comments on the darkish pages with a pinch of salt. I can read them perfectly although the font in on the smaller size, but the quality of the book is above many of its counterparts. The pictures are amazing and the paper is spilt proof enough to be used in the kitchen meanwhile cooking.
I also like the fact that it is divided in parts so it becomes very easy to navigate when searching for a particular recipe.
I will be buying a second book whenever is out because this is the sort of challenging and educative book I was hoping and expecting from Ash after seeing his genius in MasterChef.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
First of all, I love the format of the book- the hard cover, the paper quality and the typography. The photos are so inspiring and they make you feel you are getting a bit of an insight into the Basque country. Love them.
This book shows you that you do not need to be an expert at cooking or at food presentation to get something decent and tasty on the table. You can replicate the rustic but exquisite Basque every day meals with a few ingredients and simple directions.
I find the book super easy to follow and not complicated at all. Most of the ingredients can be found at local supermarket chains here in the UK so no excuse there!
My conclusion would be: easy, practical and super inspiring therefore I highly recommend it!
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Fantastic recipes, very easy to follow and give the authentic flavour of Spanish/ basque cuisine. Love all the dishes but especially the chicken with cannellini beans and chorizo and also the ribs. Think I will give it as Christmas presents!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
This book is an absolute delight, fantastic recipes bound together with stunning photos of the region. Very well put together, in depth explanations of ingredients, methods and history. Can't recommend it enough.xxx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
My family became fans of Ash Mair when we followed his progress on Master Chef. His modesty combined with the amazing food was a winning combination and we cheered loudly when he won. We hoped for a book and here it is - worth waiting for! Spanish food is full of passion and flavour and Ash has captured both. I have just cooked us the Chicken with Chorizo and Beans and it was delicious, filling the house with a glorious medley of smells and the chicken was perfect. Loads of recipes, wonderful photos, sweet comments from the master chef, what's not to like?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
It was hard not to be impressed with Mair on Masterchef, He always seemed to put everything into each challenge and task. I bought his book when it came out and have used it several times. He is clearly passionate about the region and the book has been well written though out and published despite what some reviews say on here.
Obviously seafood and tapas/pinxto play the strongest roles in this book. It is not for beginners I feel, but I would recommend it to anybody who wants to learn and cook the food from this stunning and passionate region.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)