Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 January 2016
This attractively produced little guide provides a useful summary of the main points of interest when planning a short visit, but I found it quite hard to use during my holiday because it proved short on precise details of public transport and the geography of places bearing in mind that Madeira is lacking in clear signposts and information boards for tourists. It does not consider sufficiently how places appear from the viewpoint of a total stranger.

For instance, it would be useful to know which buses useful for excursions start near the "Teleféricos" cable car to Monte, or that on leaving the bus from Funchal at Ribeiro Frio you need to walk on up the hill round to the left to find the start of the levada walk to the viewing platforms, and so on.

The guide would have benefited from more maps and walking routes (say from the Funchal Lido to Formosa Praia and on to the fishing village of Camara de Lobos, rather than chatty descriptions of say "leviathan" sperm whales (which actually resemble black logs in the water except when they dive). The index is also unclear since it does not highlight the main reference to each place e.g. for the highlight of Monte it's page 41.

I found the Lonely Planet Pocket Guide less "pretty" but of much more practical use.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Very basic guide book. Probably would be wiser to invest in one such as the Marco Polo guide for a better insight into the island.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Just what I need for my trip to Madeira. Only just reprinted and therefore has all the current information required.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
Berlitz never lets you down. This is no exception and small enough to fit in your pocket.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
Not a bad guide but a little dated. It's ok but the guide with the map I bought would have given me the same info.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
Excellent guide pity we didn't get to use it as we had to cancel hholiday at last minute, but we have for next time we try to go
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Just the job
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
wouldnt recommend the book to a backpacker. But as a tourist looking for a handy sized overview of the attractions of the island its ok. Expect information re the best tourist attractions and the most popular tourist restaurants. Some of the history is useful, but not for those who prefer to go off the beaten track and eat with the locals.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 November 2014
We were visiting Funchal for a day as part of a cruise and wanted some background about the place.
This book cost just a few pounds and gave us a brief background about the island and the city which was perfect.
You are walked around Funchal in a guided walk which worked quite well. I could have done with more on Funchal for our specific needs but it would be ideal if you were staying there for longer and visiting more of the island.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
A valuable guide to my holiday that made decision making on holiday so much easier. Particularly helpful for advice on transport and restaurants.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)