Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
30
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2014
A well illustrated and laid out book, based on a herb so if you have borrage recipies with this herb are kept together.
Already tried some of the recipes and the family really enjoyed them. Simple and easy to prepare and cook.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
This wonderful book came in perfect condition and beautifully wrapped by the seller. Such a nice surprise- like having a second birthday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
The book looks nice and is a great idea but unfortunately does not deliver.

The recipes are unoriginal and disappointing. For example,one of the 'recipes' using caraway is to make regular roast potatoes .... with caraway seeds on them!

If you want an attractive coffee table book then this is that. If, however, you are looking for a book on cooking with herbs then you may be disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2012
This is a perfect companion to Jekka's herb book. There are some superb recipes and some unusual ones. I think that the illustrations are excellent, although I think I would have preferred them to have been photos of exact herbs to enable identification to be easier. otherwise, a fantastic purchase.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Needs to be a printed book. Need the pictures and colour to bring it alive.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2010
This cookbook has many of the recipes Jekka McVicar freely shares with anyone she comes into contact with: whether it's an audience at one of her popular talks, or someone like me visiting her herb farm for the first time. The recipe she gave me is in this book (salmon and lemongrass parcel, which is yummy) along with another 249 taken from 3 generations of her and her family's cooking, plus those given by famous chefs, friends and staff at the herb farm.

50 herbs are featured: from the usual suspects like Basil, Mint or Sage and more unusual ones such as Shiso and Vietnamese Coriander. I'm pleased she's included Shiso as I tasted this herb at one of her open days: it was delicious, but I had no idea of how to use it. Flowers such as nasturtiums, marigolds and violets also get a look in. These are Jekka's top 50 herbs for culinary use in the broadest sense of the word.

Each herb featured is thoroughly introduced: taking you through its description (including notes on how to grow it), history in cooking, harvesting & uses, and varieties. Then follows the recipes: each one is introduced with lots of little anecdotes making you feel Jekka is at your elbow telling you all about it. The final section on each herb ends with a guide on what to do with a glut, should you have one.

If you're looking for specific information on making tinctures, teas etc., then you need to look elsewhere in Jekka's previous books, though instructions for drying are given for some of the herbs such as Sweet Bay. This is a celebration of the use of herbs to complement food rather than the use of their medicinal properties.

Her daughter Hanna's artwork is the final delightful touch to a clearly laid out and good looking book.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
This is a lovely hardback book which will sit well alongside your other cook books. The author goes through each herb in turn giving a description of the plant, its history in cooking, its main uses, medicinal properties and finally recipes. And there are some interesting recipes: Lavender Butter anyone? How about Thyme souffle? The author's chapter on Nasturtiums prompted me to buy her book on Cooking with Flowers.
All in all, a nice book that would make a great present. Two criticisms: 1) I was hoping for a chapter on Fenugreek (there was none) and 2) Each herb is illustrated with a stylised watercolour - which makes for lovely design but if you've never seen the herb in real life before, the paintings aren't the best way of helping you identify them growing in the ground.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
This is a gorgeous book with beautiful illustrations and lovely to read, I liked that even the history of the Herb was included in each herb description, a great book to have on hand for referral on growing advice and cooking uses. The only thing that would have made the book a touch better, would have been if there were some photo's of the prepared recipes - although it would have been hard to incorporate photo's with the illustrated flow of the book.
Great for a herb lover or someone wanting to learn more about herbs.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
This is a lovely book with great ideas and recipes - I just wish there were photographs of the herbs rather than the drawings (though beautiful) it makes it hard to identify the real herbs
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2010
This is the best herb cookbook I have bought. It is full of interesting and useful information on both common and less well known herbs. The recipes included are delicious. I would not hesitate to recommend this book by the herb growing Queen!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)