Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
52
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 December 2013
"Lonely Planet's Best Ever Photography Tips" by Richard l'Anson is well done book full of photography tips that can help you becoming a better photographer instead of buying a new camera.

The long-known fact is that you can learn to photograph and impress your audience even if you have equipment that is almost worthless, while on the other hand the most advanced equipment in the hands of someone who doesn't know won't make great pictures, but the picture will be even worse than if you took them with a pocket camera.

It's often amazing how the simplest advices that can be learned about lighting, object positioning, backlight, time of day in which the photographs are looking best, aperture and some other, the vast majority of people don't know, although it would take them about ten minutes to learn them - as result their photos would be improved, literally immediately.
In this sense publication of this nicely designed, informative and handy booklet that can be read once and then always carry with you to be reminded is great.
The author on one place gathered the most important information that will help you making better photographs and learn to make better use of equipment that is at your disposal.

He will advise you about choosing correct equipment and adequate accessories such as lens and tripods, introduce to the terms of exposure, ISO and depth of field, teach you how to avoid blur and choose right file format for you, how to position your objects following the rule of thirds.
What I especially liked about this book was author's emphasis that good photographers are becoming good due to constant practice.

And for all these reasons, especially if you don't already have one of similar books, "Lonely Planet's Best Ever Photography Tips" can be fully recommended - at one place, on its just over 150 pages it provides an overview of the most important photo tips that will help you instantly improve your photographic skills.

Of course, don't expect to immediately become a pro, but for that you don't need great equipment, but lots and lots of practice.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
I don't know who this is aimed at. Beginners are likely to be confused by use of terms like HDR which aren't explained, or guidance on "where to take your light meter reading"!! More experienced photographers won't find anything new.

There are a number of photographs in the book but the author doesn't say what aperture, shutter speed or ISO he used, or more importantly explain why, and why this is a "good" photo.

Don't be misled by the positive review that refers to taking great photos on your phone. There is a brief reference to using a camera phone and then it's on to cable releases, tripods, filters etc. Does your phone connect to these? No, nor does mine.

I feel I wasted my money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
Again, another of the photography ebooks Ive bought to try and get me a bit above the average, and again a book that just goes through all the basics of how to use your camera, its settings and how to use your camera in different situations, but nothing new. Its a book that really should be aimed at new photographers, or people who are graduating from a point and shoot type camera who havent used camera setting before manually.
Tips for street photographer, if your taking pictures of people pay them ie Beggers!! Err No, its illegal to beg DONT pay them!
I like the layout of the book, there are lots of lovely photographs included in it to illustrate all the tips that you are being given.
Would prefer if it has been described as for beginners though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 December 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
When I ordered this book I wasn't entirely sure what to expect. Was it aimed at keen amateurs that have already mastered their cameras? Perhaps complete novices or maybe even any level that are interested in maximising their photo success on any travel occasion.

I've come to the conclusion that it's attempting to be fit for all book and that's fine. However, whilst the tips at first reading seem easy content to read, many of the tips actually cover topics in brief that could confuse many photographers, particularly those that are new to cameras. For instance, exposure compensation which requires a great deal of thought and knowledge about how the camera will react under certain conditions. Much of the knowledge of any camera lies at the door of the owner but it continually surprises me that many new photographers allow their camera to make all the decisions. In so doing items like exposure compensation may/will mean nothing to them and probably don't even know where to look for it.

One thing I would have like to see on each of the photographs would be more data like shutter speed, aperture chosen and iso selected. This may also mean nothing to many but for me it would illustrate why raising the iso was needed and why a shutter speed was required for that photo.

In summary, the data contained is OK but I think if you're interested in photography I'd probably recommend either taking a course/s or purchasing a book about photography that really chews through information about the art of photography and how to get the best out of the camera that you have.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 December 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have to admit that, as someone who has bought quite a few Lonely Planet guidebooks over eh years, this was perhaps not quite what I was expecting; but I can't say that I was disappointed. In fact, I'm actually surprised at how many times I've tipped in and out of the different sections, looking for little tips.

The format is quite small, but ideal for slipping into a jacket pocket or a camera bag (17cm x 10cm or 7" x 4"), with x45 tips set out over a double page. Each tip is set with a few key pointers and then an example shot (see picture) Just in case you can't what you're looking for, there's a simple glossary and index at the back of the book as well. It really is a simple format, but it works.

Now to be absolutely fair, the print quality is one thing that niggles a little bit. When you're looking at different photographs on a scene, which are intended to illustrate different set-ups or technique, the lower quality print doesn't really help. Some things are fairly obvious, and common sense, so the ideas aren't lost.

I do think that it is a great little book, a well set out, simple idea, that encourages you to think about the picture, but still capture that moment. Given the price as well, I'd be very tempted to buy one as a gift and another one for myself, it really is a great book to dip into or inspiration, without being too technical or weighty to read.
review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
I bought this book as a present, however being a photographer myself I took a quick peek.

This is a fantastic little book which has simple, quick, clear and concise instructions and tips on how to take photos in most situations.

Its small enough to pop into a camera bag and I'm tempted to buy one myself.

The book itself has a semi-hard cover, and whilst it's a paperback, it appears to be quite durable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 December 2014
A small and well put together camera tips book, with some brilliant glove trotting photo's, which have NO exif data at all, which themselves would help travellers no end.
The tips are ok but nothing a google search wouldn't reveal. The saving grace is the price, making it an ideal cheapie for a total newbie with no photography experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
It has some handy tips and is nicely presented but no tips that are radically going to improve the photos you take - unless you've never ever given any thought to things like where the sun is and what might be an interesting composition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
Awesome little book. This is a lovely, well designed, tactile book which is a must for those who like a book they can pickk up and put down with ease. Clear format, explanations and examples. A great buy would defo recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 November 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I was slightly disappointed in seeing this book, it is much smaller than I imagined and the quality of the photographs inside is not great. A quick glance through and some of the tips are fairly obvious and more like common sense. That said the book warrants a more in-depth read to find the real gems hidden inside
That said and the size makes more sense because this is a book that you can put in your pocket and take with you as well as your camera and if in doubt look up those titbits of information that you haven't committed to memory yet.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)