Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 3 June 2013
Funny and insightful, although some parts of it are irrelevant to me as a non-American. Also, I realised that I am not 'white' enough for the amount of white parentage I have, must try harder :p
It's interesting to put the boot on the other foot on though. Black cultures are constantly analysed, described, scrutinized and categorised into narrow stereotypes...Now it's time to find out what makes white people white, eh?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2016
This book literally is just a list of things the author believes whitr people like. It's like a comedy sketch that goes on and on and on - despite no one laughing at it into begin with. I found it quite boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2014
gave this to my mate as a joke and she loved it - some good laughs in it
came in perfect condition also, great gift idea
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2013
It is a really funny book. You should search for the video from the author in case you have any questions about buying this book.
Some items hit too close to home!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2017
Books as those can get into clichés very fast, but apart from that, it has some smile inducing content, and in the one or other aspect of the book, there will be or might be some recognition and amusement for many who will read it. In general it is a funny idea and it is a book, that can be taken at hands now and then or read through in one evening - a light and easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 December 2009
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Stuff White People Like is based on a cult website that has been running for a while and most of the contents of the book can be found on the website so this is not a great value purchase if you already follow the site. It is amusing enough, although aimed very much at an American market. Over this side of the Atlantic I think we can gt the jokes but not really feel them.

The title is a little misleading as this is not about white people but about a very specific subset of white people, namely those young professional, liberal, urban-dwelling white people. By the definitions in here Barack Obama is probably more of a white person than, say, Ted Nugent. In fact there is a quiz at the back where you determine how white you are and even allowing a few borderline yes answers I only rated 14% white.

The conceit of the book, and website, is that it is supposed to be written for people from either ethnic minorities in America or for foreigners so they can understand 'white people' and get on their good side and it is a good conceit. In reality, of course, the book is aimed firmly at the sort of people the book is supposedly satirising - after all, number 103 on the list is 'self deprecating humour'.

Bearing that in mind, the natural audience for it in the UK will be the sort of people who appreciate the Colbert Report and wish they could live in New York or San Francisco. Hopefully there will be enough of them, because despite its lack of substance, American bias and familiarity to anybody who has found the website, it is quite witty and in places very sharp. Ironically (and 'irony' is No. 50 on the list) the bits I enjoyed most were those that appeared to have been written specifically for the book, like the flowcharts.

The other thing to appreciate is the attention to detail, with even the sub-title on the cover and the typesetting credit at the back containing sly digs at middle class mores.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 December 2009
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Another book taken from a web page, Stuff White People Like is a far more exciting and entertaining prospect. It's not just Stuff Any White People Like - that would include lager, flat roof pubs, and rock music - but a very specific, self-mocking barb at the so-called enlightened middle class tastes of a certain age take, the age that seeks to recreate an age that never existed in retro t-shirts that are fake-aged, coffee shops, music piracy, ports of old computer games, brown trainers, and whilst this is dangerously close to creating a list (and just a list on its own is very boring). Thankfully this work expands on the more-is-less approach by detailing exactly how absurd - and quietly hypocritical - some of the Stuff White People Like is. Multinational companies releasing multimillion dollar epics about diamond smuggling, when, for example, a few million dollars may go a very long way towards solving the problem. Or ironically liking pop groups in a so-bad-it's-good-way because you don't want to be seen to admit that secretly, Take That wrote some stunning songs. This is a fine tome : funny, witty, gently filled with the typical cossetted self-loathing that made Marilyn Manson and Slipknot incredibly popular. As a title to be dipped into, in the course of a few hundred short, sharp essays that you can while away a few hundred moments of your life, Stuff White People Like takes the limitations of it's parent webpage format, and makes them a benefit and a boon. A fine choice of stocking filler for the self-loathing, brown trainer wearing, Coldplay fan in your life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I was familiar with a lot of the content of this book, having dropped in on the blog a few times over the last couple of years. Since I pretty much fit the profile of middle class, white, liberal arts background that is targeted here, the gasp of recognition - realising that your unique tastes are shared by many millions is personal and therefore more satisfying and funny. Given that the book deals almost exclusively in American culture, this is also a reminder of how we increasingly live in a global village.

The book appeals to me, but then I like to feel slightly superior in having insight into how my tastes are informed - in other words exactly the slightly smug and hypocritical sort that is lampooned here. I could also see why many people may not like this book at all - and not just those with an aversion to list books.

Can't deny that it has become a bit of a phenomenon though - and has prompted a slew of imitators on the web. From white stuff people like (snow, mayo, swans etc); to stuff white trash people like (mullets, phone holsters, all u can eat buffets etc).

So an acquired taste, amusing to some, and probably better enjoyed as a blog than as a book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 December 2009
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The first thing I should probably say is, DO NOT TAKE THIS BOOK SERIOSULY! It's purpose is to provide the reader with a simple, easy to read collection of short satirical articles and that is something which it does rather well. If you sit back and take the book in a light-hearted manner then it is vastly different than if you go storming in expecting it to be a factual bible to all things white people like.

Overall I quite enjoyed the book, I wouldn't say it was the best I have ever read and there are improvements that could be made but I quite like this type of book. The book lists a variety of topics (150 in total) and each are around 2 pages long. They range from "Religions your Parents don't belong to" to "Plaid". I do have to admit that many of the points do hold a certain degree of truth and I think that most people will be able to find at least 1 thing they or their friends relate to in the book. This all adds to the feel and provides the reader with a sense of self importance and smugness. Not only does the book contain articles but almost every article is accompanied by a picture, some are funny and fit the context quite well but others are less so.

In summary you cannot expect a book to entertain every one of your needs and with books such as this where the target audience is the target victim, people do tend to sometimes take it a little too seriously. If you're into this sort of thing then the book will be great, just do not buy it under the presumption that it is an encyclopaedia... obviously.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 December 2009
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
In some ways it's a bit of a shame that reviewers can't award half stars for products because this is a prime example of where I'd like to. The premise of this list book, as clearly stated in the title, is to define the `Stuff White People Like' - although I'm sure you could replace the term `white' for middle class or anyone fairly aspirational. The author, Christian Lander, clearly has his tongue wedged firmly in his cheek whilst penning this tome and his wife Jess, a photographer contributes many of the photographs in this book, which seems to make it jollier somehow.

I think the main problem I found is that the edition I received was the US one, so although I can directly compare some issues such #105 `Pretending to be a Canadian when travelling abroad' and #111 Portland, Oregon were slightly lost on me. Saying that, there's an awful lot in there to make you smile, especially #67 `standing still at concerts' and #107 `Natural Childbirth' struck a chord with me and made me laugh.

In conclusion, list books, especially in paperback are excellent if you like to dip in and out of a book, have a short attention span, have to commute or if you're a fan of `toilet books'. I guess this would make a sturdy stocking filler for any fan of American culture/humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)