Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2011
I really enjoyed becoming a snob in tailoring! This amazing book draws on a hefty amount of experience and in depth knowledge about the subject. It is well written, easy to read for someone who already has a certain sartorial interest. If not, it's a great start.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2012
Whilst interesting and suit-ably (pun most certainly intended) portable this book is nowhere near well illustrated or accessible enough to merit a strong recommendation. Depictions of menswear, where they are present are nicely laid out in ink wash with pen lines, but the loosehand style makes it difficult to distinguish what are often subtle variations in suit styles.

There is also an unfortunate gap between areas where the book states the glaringly obvious, and then others where nowhere near enough context is given, or more cripplingly jargon is left unexplained, with there being more than one instance where the glossary at the back does not cover the term, individual person or style that is referenced.

As Crompton himself recommends before all others, Dressing the man by Alan Flusser is a superior, though (non-problematically) American centred study of menswear that supersedes this one in every sense.

For all the criticisms there is interest to be found in this book in discussion of suit proportions and the different styles and respective merits of lapel, cut trouser e.t.c., however I can't imagine the kind of people that are likely to drop a few grand on a a bespoke suit would be likely to turn to this book, rather than the tailors themselves, magazines or word of mouth from their peers. I am thus left slightly confused as to who this book is aimed at, as I suspect the author is too.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 July 2012
When purchasing this book, I was not seeking a definitive compendium with every question answered or every topic explored. I just wanted a guide to the basics of a topic relevant for most men in this country - ranging from those who have to wear smart clothes to work every day (i.e. a suit), to those who may only stick on the tuxedo at the back of the cupboard for a family wedding every five years. Simon Crompton delivers with this book information which would be useful and of interest to both of those types..

While I imagine it would be an interesting read cover to cover, it's great to delve into for a couple of pages, or perhaps just check what is said on a specific item (e.g. ties - what to look for in a good one or what colours/patterns are generally acceptable together). For prospective purchasers of this book who already have a wardrobe with ten Huntsman suits and has exhausted every offering Jermyn Street has to offer, I can see that there will perhaps be little illumination offered by this book (but you would expect that to be the case from a 'guide').

The watercolour illustrations are very useful and help to give the jargon some context. I also like the format very much - it is a narrow hard back with an elastic strap which, although not strictly necessary, makes it seem a touch smarter when fastened up (just like any suit jacket and its respective buttons). In summary, while this book isn't perhaps a touchstone in its genre, it covers several of the most important topics/clothing items and, most importantly, should provoke thought and consideration which may not have existed in most readers before they picked it up.

I will purchase several of these at Christmas time as stocking fillers (perhaps with some others from the series), particularly for young relatives starting off in office jobs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
This book is perfect for amateurs and people with little experience in tailored suits. It is full of useful and practical advice. It helps people avoid silly mistakes and make informed decisions in commissioning bespoke tailors.

I look forward to a guide on tailored shirts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
as a trainee tailor i found the book very interesting and its such a handy book that all men NEED to get before considering buying a suit!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Great book. Easy to read, the story of tailoring is explained easily, chronologically and with additional information. It is a reference book as well as a guide. Excellent value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
Tis is a very useful and informative little book. A perfect present , which is well priced .
The presentation is good. All in all an excellent book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
As a primer for those new to mens tailoring I don't think this book can be beaten. I've bought several copies for friends and it's always well received.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
God carried away with all the books I bought for presents this Christmas but this was another one that didn't disapoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Arrived promptly and as described. Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)