Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2011
This book is miniature like its title, and its novel in size. But that does not detract from the recipes within. These are clearly written with a colourful and pleasing photograph depicting the finished item.

Christmas Miniatures starts with recipes for finger food suitable for buffets and the like, perfect for that boxing day party or family get together. It then moves on to little pies and tarts, little cakes and puddings, biscuits and slices and chocolates and sweets (which are gifts of a sweet nature, ideal to give at Christmas).

The mince pies with a hazelnut pastry stood out for me and I will definitely be making these as they sound so good and I am always looking out for a new and interesting mince pie recipe.

Other delights include some of the biscuits (angel and coconut wreath designs) and mini hazelnut shortbread Christmas Trees made from other biscuit recipes in the book.

The notion of making miniature gingerbread houses is new to me but these look so effective with their shreddies inspired roof tops. AND so much easier than making a full sized gingerbread house.

A book to pop into your supermarket trolley for ideas at Christmas OR a lovely little stocking filler for a food lover or someone who likes to entertain.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
Quick - get this book!

"Christmas Miniatures - finger food and tiny treats" by Australian Women's Weekly (who have long been renowned for publishing great cookbooks) is a lovely little book which I urge you to buy asap. The sooner you get it the sooner you can start planning what to make as gifts and what to cook for the upcoming festive season; there's lots to choose from.

"Christmas Miniatures" gives over 50 recipes for nibbly treats, mostly sweet but some great savoury cocktail items too. There are, of course, some of the things one would expect in such a book; miniature Christmas puds, a few weeny versions of mince pies, including an Eccles cake version, and chocolatey delights but there are surprises too; Stained Glass Biscotti being one and Gingerbread Christmas Trees another to name just two - lovely presentations. In fact quite a few of these tiny treats are not only good enough to eat they are pretty enough to hang on the tree first.

The book is illustrated with some great photos, one per recipe, so you know what you are aiming for and in the back are some conversion charts and a useful glossary. I shall be sitting down with this book (and a brandy) to make my plans very soon.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
bought this book as a stocking filler for my other half but ended up giving it to him a week early so we could do some of the fun recipes in the lead up to christmas
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
Very small book with lots of cute little treats. Size makes it hard to use, need to wedge open! Also lots of recipes repeated from other women weekly publications, would be annoying if you were expecting a whole bunch of new stuff! As always recipes work well and aren't overly complex.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
What a lovely book, it is small in size and the food ideas are fantasic. I am really pleased, well worth the £3.

I am planning to make some mini bites and put them on the table on Christmas Day for people.

Would recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
It's a very small book, a booklet rather! However, it's packed with recipies I loved!
If you want it for a gift, you should buy something else because it's really small!!
If you want something for yourself, then give it a try....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
When I first received this book I was surprised by its size, but even though it is a small book it is huge in number of recipes. Based mainly on finger foods and tiny treats, it is broken down into sections such as cocktail food, pies / tarts, cakes / puddings, biscuits / slices, chocolates and my favourite section the sweet gifts.

this year my daughter has decided to make christmas gifts for extended family and she has already chosen a selection from this book, including brownie bombs which are made to look like mini christmas puddings and I will be making the turkish delight for my Mother In Law.

There is a really good glossery in the back as well as a conversion chart. The whole book is very well laid out and the pictures are great and very appealing. The recipes are easy to follow and have handy tips at the bottom such as how far in advance you can make.

A lovely little book - not just for christmas!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 November 2011
Another fantastic recipe book by The Australian Women's Weekly. This is one of the smaller, A5, size books but is jam packed full of gorgeous sounding recipes.

The book is split into five sections: cocktail food (including finger food); little pies and tarts; little cakes and puddings; biscuits and slices; and chocolates and sweets (including sweet gifts).

The recipes are clearly and concisely written in simple steps. The preparation and cooking time are included at the start of the recipe, along with a complete ingredient list. There are also tips included alongside some recipes.

The recipes in this book would be perfect for buffets or finger food at parties. There are many lovely sounding recipes and also recipes which could be adapted for parties at other times of the year.

As with many other Australian Women's Weekly recipe books there is a fantastic glossary of the commonly used ingredients. The glossary gives alternative names for some ingredients and also preparation or presentation ideas of the ingredients.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
Lots of interesting creative treats to make in this one. Excellent service product and delivery. Certainly would recommend it to inspire you to get cooking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
Very nice little book full of innovative ideas. Highly recommended for Birthday and Christmas cooking. Very colourful pages with great recipies
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)