Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
When I started to unwrap this book I wasn't sure what to expect - an expedition guide or a pictorial travel book. In my opinion this is the sort of book you could use to whet your appetite for a particular type of expedition (it is arranged into chapters - Hike, Dive, Bike, Above and Below, Climb, Ice & Snow, Animals, Water and Drive). The coup for Lonely Planet is that once you've got your inspiration from this book, then, you'd probably buy one of their more detailed guides to the region concerned. Great Adventures caters for a wide range of possible ambitions from an "amble" in the UK to climbing volcanoes in Russia. The book covers a spectrum of "realistic" trips as well as the sort of the expeditions you'd mount if you are a fit lottery winner.

However, even for those who can't, or, don't want to travel, this book represents a real experience in itself - the photographs, locations and information/advice are blended into a universally appealing cocktail. I struggle to think of who wouldn't treasure this book.

Few books I have opened have left me with such an immediate sense of awe and a realisation that some volumes will always triumph in printed form (even over a Kindle HD version) - this is one of those books! Great Adventures is an ideal gift book for a wide variety of recipients, or alternatively, a self indulgence and who knows where it may lead you? A real credit to the Lonely Planet brand and highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
This book is amazing! Full of brilliant adventures - I read it every night and it gives some great ideas for travel. Would definately recommend it. The description of the places and the photography is amazing and i'm certainly going to try and visit the places mentioned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Well this is definitely a great start for things I'd like to do one day, My 12 year old Daughter and I read it and the other in the series together at her bed time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Bought this as present. The person bought for said great colour and illustration and really give you a insight around the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 December 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Lonely Planet follows on from last year's successful Great Journeys with a successor that ups the ante while retaining the sumptuous photography and insightful reading. Opulent train rides are out, life-risking climbs up Mount Everest are in. There is a welcome familiarity and uniformity with the previous entry in the layout but it's quite a different beast in concept. What is the difference between a journey and an adventure? In his foreword, Ben Fogle explains: "It isn't an adventure unless something goes awry."

If Great Journeys sought to provide inspiration for future vacations, Great Adventures compiles the wonders of the world that lie beyond many of us for whatever reason. If, however, you have the means and dedication to seek out these thrills for yourself, the 'making it happen' section in each draws up an initial action plan. Even so, you could never leave your home and still get plenty from Lonely Planet's stunning photography. It's as rich and awe-inspiring as ever with top notch presentation.

There is nothing to fault here. I can't really recommend one Great volume over the other either; both are worthy additions to any library. I'm just left wondering where they have to go next for the closing chapter of any potential trilogy...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Well put together, and a book that absorbs you. Iy makes you want to go out and do these things yourself. Inspiratioinal
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 November 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Coming in at a hefty weight, this coffee table style book, with its hard cover and glossy pages and new book smell is a great travel inspiration and photographic gem.

It's always hard to fault these kinds of books unless the categorization is poor or writing bad. Neither of which apply to this book. The idea of the book is inspire experiences in our world and Lonely Planet's break down of content in this book falls into categories such as Hiking, Biking, Diving, Driving, Water, Animal, Climbing, Ice and Snow and Above and Below. With highly unlikely trips such as Kayaking in Antarctica or Dog Sled the Yukon, it's inspirational none the less.

The photos are second to none and the narrative is excellent. The only way I could fault this book is by saying that it makes me feel jealous because of the wonderful experiences I will never likely do or the incredible out of the way places I'd be unlikely to visit.

I have a couple of these Lonely Planet glossy coffee table books and they are all great. This one is highly recommended for anyone who has ever had itchy feet or who might have an interest in photography or our world around us.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 November 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Lonely Planet's Great Adventures is an expensively and lavishly produced large format travel encyclopedia. Divided into different sections depicting the different kinds of adventures (Drive, Bike, Hike etc.) it is full of spectacular and inspiring photography. Each adventure takes up 3 or 4 pages of the book explaining what the trip involves, how long it takes, when to visit and further reading suggestions.

The book also places an original slant on some well-visited destinations, Prince Edward Island in Canada has been on my "to visit" list for many years, but this book suggests cycling round the island, which is a great idea!

Great Adventures would make a wonderful present for a teenager looking for ideas for their gap year or for anyone who wants to fire up their imagination with some wonderful ideas for travel. and for those without the budget to go far, there's even some ideas of adventures to have within the UK such as rowing the Thames or coasteering in Pembrokshire.

A delightful book to add to any family's library!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Beautiful coffee table book, fantastic pictures and narrative. Inspirational ! , . . . . . . . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
Brought for our son, as he is involved in travel which includes animal conservation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)