Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2013
We found the guidebook being accurate and updated. There were few places we visited that weren't in it, but seemed such a good holiday destinations that thought they should have been in it. They could've mentioned limitations in Plitvice Lakes in case you have a buggy. Then there was a small chapter 'Knin worth the visit', but it just didn't mention much anything why except a castle. We drove up and were kinda disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
It was next to no use and I wonder if the author actually visited any of the places described or did they just phone the local tourist information and get their politically correct publicity. One place on Brac was mentioned as being a quiet haven lost in time, whilst the town was quaint, as are dozens of others, they can hardly describe somewhere like that when there is berthing for probably several hundred yacht's. while Split's market, old town & harbour are mentioned they forget to tell you about the 3 1/2 km drive from the coast road through the outskirts to the harbour area and that there is next to no parking available near these attractions. I think the whole book has been based on someone flying in, getting taxies or public transport, staying & eating at the best no expenses spared hotels and restaurants, because they probably were on expenses. We consulted this guide often but it didn't really equate with what we were actually seeing and experiencing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
The front cover boldly states that the book is 100% updated. We were sent looking for restaurants which had been shut for 4 years! Lack of maps and very thin for a country with so many places to see.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
This is a great book!

Made traveling around this lovely country a lot easier!

I would definitely buy more books in this series in the future
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
We used this book to plan our route and decide which spots in Croatia we wanted to visit on our first trip there.
The guide was good for that, and as always Lonely planet had loads of interesting info regarding history and culture of Croatia. Think the pages on accommodation are wasted now with internet offering so much choice. We did use for a few of their restaurant recommendations- one was very good, one was very poor (note to self, always check trip advisor, regardless of how remote a place is!) Overall good, I will continue to buy LP as my guide for travelling. Do not trust any time tables for public transport, we found these to be very inaccurate, easier to just ask when you are there!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
just been on holiday to croatia... Dubrovnik to be exact and this book was accurate in its description and what to expect. Usual excellence from Lonely Planet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
This is laid out as many guidebooks are with the locations described and advice on eating out and hotels, etc. It works if you are going for a specific theme or item but is not good for browsing to get a general feel for a locality and what to see. The major problem is with the maps which are available as PDF downloads so not so easy to view while browsing. You can save them to open later but I found that a password was required to open saved map files and I had no idea what that was. Not sure that I would go for a Kindle guidebook again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
If you intend touring Croatia this book is a must. It gives clear detail with a synopsis of the best places to visit and is full of vital information.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
From a quick flick through, it seemed like the the usual LP guidebook. However from travelling around Croatia the last few days, it has been quite unhelpful.

The lack of local maps to even the more popular destinations like Bol or Hvar to not showing where 'Split' airport is or what direction.

Croatia has a really developed tourism industry and you really need to visit a tourist information centre to get ideas on what to do and to get a better local map!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Clear and detailed as with all LP guides - would suit both budget and more affluent travellers - however needs more pictures/maps/diagrams as a bit text heavy
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)