Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
42
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This 304-page book - the 3rd (print) edition of January 2014 - is an interesting and readable guide to the Western British counties of Devon & Cornwall. This is a well-designed and presented guide, with useful maps. This is not a glossy guide with lots of colour pictures, but it is a well-designed and laid out guide, with colour used sparingly. It is intended to be a helpful guide to things to see and do, and not just a list of things to see and do.

It is broken down into four major sections:

Page 4 - Plan Your Trip:
Introduction to Devon & Cornwall, what to look out for (Devon & Cornwall‘s Top 16), what you need to know in advance, etc.

Page 41 - On The Road (“The Guide”):
P042: Exeter & East Devon
P064: Torquay & South Devon
P099: Plymouth & Dartmoor
P126: Exmoor & North Devon
P150: Bodmin & East Cornwall
P160: South Cornwall
P193: Newquay & the North Coast
P219: West Cornwall & the Isles of Scilly

Page 258 - Understand (local culture):
This section has articles on history, environment, food & drink, arts, etc.

Page 282 - Survival Guide:
A-Z Directory, transport, index, etc.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
I've been going to Cornwall for decades and all of the favourite places are in here, but also some I've never been to before. Very detailed, an absolute treasure.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
great book with lots of detail about things to do, places to go and see etc. Lots of nice walks that I doubt we would have found without the book. Now we just need to go back to Cornwall to visit a different area and make the most of the recommendations!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2016
The Guide only arrived yesterday so have only browsed it. However next week we are going to Devon & Cornwall ans am certain it will be more than useful as have all the other L.P. Guides I have purchased.
The book is in pristine condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
Fantastic guide to this wonderful part of the country. Found there to be enough pictures to pique interest, as well as great summaries of towns, villages and sites to visit. Not pages and pages of boring explanations but the right amount of info to help you plan your days and trips on holiday. Will come in useful as we frequently visit this area on holiday. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
I used this to plan a 4 day getaway to Newquay and surrounding areas. This book gave me a good feel on what is possible to do on day trips and pointed out some pretty cool spots to visit that I would have never found otherwise. The only problem was that it doesn't give alternative or quiet places to go when the crowds are out and the beaches are busy, so it's a bit of pot luck stopping off at each place recommended and seeing if it's too busy or not.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
Just moved to Devon and this has proved to be an invaluable resource although it's not as easy to navigate as an eBook as a hard copy would be.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
Maybe the book version is a classical Guide book and it could work as a standard guide. The kindle version is a nightmare, I gave up at one point. There are not pictures enough, with my friends we spent all time googling the places to see, how to get there and how they look like.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
Expected a lot more information - should have gone for a separate book on Cornwall and on Devon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
Very good book. We even followed some suggested itineraries. The few recommended restaurants that we tried were very good. Good maps, nice suggested places. We discovered some hidden places that are less touristic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)