Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
40
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£26.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2011
Original? Maybe not
Contrived? Possibly
Precise recipes? (You are kidding, right? This is a French cookbook!)
A thing of beauty? Let's not get carried away...

I may have moaned as I diced the Reblochon and I may have cursed a little as the required `750ml Rousanne' turned out to be 200ml too much and I may have even stamped my foot a bit as the '15 minutes or so' turned out to be more like 30...but there is no getting away from the sheer pleasure of eating the end results - this is food that never fails to stun the table into a total and absolute silence (if you get it right...).

Go into this with your eyes open and you won't be disappointed; if your culinary skills haven't moved beyond burning toast and cracking eggs then Stephane Reynaud is unlikely to be your new best friend but if you find Nigella a `walk in the park' then this might just be the book for you.

Will you do every recipe? Probably not (unless you have a particular soft spot for the odd bit of pigeon and a few trotters).
Is the book so wonderfully photographed that you won't care? (I should sincerely hope not - it's a book to be cooked from - not left on a coffee table).
Might it drive you to swig from the Rousanne bottle in frustration? Highly likely.
Will you find yourself dreaming about the chocolate mousse or the roast shoulder of lamb? The soupe de poisson or the pineapple crumble? The Tartiflette or the ginger crème brulee....
Absoloutely, definitely, 100% yes...
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2010
This is a really lovely pick up anytime and feel good cookbook, the recipes are easy and useful when you need some inspiration. The layout is simple and the idea of 365 days and thoughts and anecdotes and recipes might have been a bit contrived but it's not at all, the book is fresh and upbeat and really relaxed. The recipes aren't fine dining restaurant ideas, but food for friends and family. There are some lovely photos and funny drawings and it's a book you'll use often I'm sure because there's so much to enjoy.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
I've long been a fan of the work of Stephane Reynaud, from Pork & Sons and Ripailles to last year's Rotis, and 365 is yet another belter from the French chef. Boasting a recipe for every day of the year, this is an accessible cookbook for the novice and more adventurous chef alike, with rustic French meat, fish, vegetarian and sweet dishes entertained, all passionately presented with seasonality in mind. What's more, with stunning photography (by Marie-Pierre Morel) and quirky illustrations throughout it's a real feast for the eyes too. Bon appétit!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 May 2011
Like someone else I have become a huge fan of Stephane Reynaud - here is a cook who makes the written description conjure the smells and tastes of the finished food. The little stories at the start of each section are charming in themselves and very french!
The recipes are simple and straightforward - this is a book for daily use and I am longing to notch up as many Stephane days as I can!
This is one of those books that everyone should have to hand - a must have cook book for every day and for dipping into to start the mouth watering! I ahve already promised my daughter that she will get a copy when she gets her first kitchen!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Very good condition, the spine is a little loose, however the price reflected this. I would buy from this seller again.

The book is excellent and recipes are in date order for produce available for that time of year. I will be using this recipe book lots.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2011
This is one of those books that is a 'fun to have'. With a recipe for every day it can happily sit on a cook book rest in the kitchen and provide incentive or light relief on a daily basis. The humourous bits at the beginning of each chapter are a great extra and the praticalities of a shopping list is a boon for those always clock watching. Photographically it may not be the best hence why I dropped a star but as a general cook book its a goodie especially if you like French style cuisine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 August 2012
Although the idea of a dish for every day of the year is somewhat contrived, and I am not normally taken with jokey asides, this works well as a seasonal cookery book.

I cannot imagine anyone slavishly following this for a year, however, there are lots of really good recipes, albeit not always original. The author is French but whilst there is a preponderance of French/Mediterranean cooking, there are things like spring rolls stuffed with salmon, cucumber & sprouting beans, prawn curry, lamb with chilli & coconut milk or Thai salad. I have just been flicking through the July & August recipes for something to eat over the weekend and the following have sparked my interest - mozzarella tart, lamb & basil kebabs, stuffed zucchini, pancetta roasted rabbit, apple & tomato gazpacho, chicken in a rosemary crust, green tabbouleh, chouchouka, and a fantastic mille feuille.

The winter recipes too are fabulous - lots of unctuous stews & roasts like salt pork with lentils, mutton stew, slow cooked pork belly plus dishes such as scallops with leek & chestnuts or scallop & truffle carpaccio. Then there is a ginger crème brulée to die for.

In general this isn't precise cooking in the sense that sometimes things take less or more time to cook than the recipe states, and you may wish to alter quantities to your own taste. In that sense the book may not suit the less experienced cook. The photography is gorgeous which just makes you want to head to the kitchen!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 June 2011
If you have never had a Stephane Reynaud book before then you should be prepared for an informative yet fun experience. Each one of his books is shot through with a dose of humour, excellent illustrations, achievable recipes and really useful information. This latest offering is no exception.

A recipe a day is a simple premise and the recipes are simple, mainly. Each month has a section at the front telling you what is in season for the month (which is even at the front of the book as well). There are brief stories of Marie and Leon as well to give the humour. But the recipes are the main star here. They are not overly complex and where a certain technique is used it is then explained why that technique is suitable. A lot of this is common sense but still its useful. The recipes are not just French either so its a real mixture.

Don't be expecting to open up todays page and then cook exactly that dish, but usually within a couple of weeks I find something that hits the spot.
Overall this is a well put together book that has such a variety of recipes here it is well worth it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2010
Very well written and laid out well. Contains lots of tips as well as the recipes with diagrams on how to do things. A wide range of recipes that are not the normal "Jamie" type stuff.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Stephane is my hero! I watched a Saturday Kitchen where he and Nathan Hale were the featured cooks. Stephane was cooking on a green small BBQ and I had never seen one, but knew it would be a wonderful addition to my kitchen. Naturally, anything used on the BBC the license payers have no right to know the name of the products (go figure that one out). So I emailed James Martin and Nathan Hale and these two English super cooks could not be bothered to answer. So I went to Stephane and he immediately told me it was the Big Green Egg and I bought one. I also bought all of his cookbooks as a thank you and they are just great.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.58

Need customer service? Click here