Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2011
The book is based around Sydney's Bentley Bar and Restaurant(renowned for its unique contemporary cuisine.) By using molecular cooking techniques such as "sous vide" and "dehydration" to create dishes that are pleasurable and unique but not so over the top that they takeover the occasion (like many chefs these days who seem to lose focus on what is important THE FLAVOUR!!!).

Dishes in this book are achievable by the talented home cook with a little effort.The recipes are written with the home cooks in a domestic kitchen in mind. The masterclass in the beginning of this cookbook explains the techniques used at The Bentley and how to modify these using domestic kitchen equipment. However alongside many complicated recipes are many basic ones, with plenty of scrumptious ideas. If like most of us you don't wish to spend all day in the kitchen preparing one dish it is also possible to take simply part of the dish and concept to create amazing food.

Basic dishes include: "Crisp Spiced Chicken with Aioli", "Prawn on a Stick with Black and White Sesame", "Bass Groper with Sour Orange, Mussels, Clams and Mustard Puree". For those more challenging dishes using scary techniques try: "Venison Tartare with Sweet Liquid Wasabi", "Kingfish Marinated in Squid Ink with Perfumed Fruit and Coconut", "Toast Custard with Chocolate Parfait and Lychee Puree". This is a very handsome book with plenty of enticing dishes to salivate over.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
This book has some very modern and difficult recipes in it which are broken down in a way which makes it simple for people to recreate and with some great pictures and at a good price this makes it even better!!:D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
i bought this book mostly because of the good price i got on amazon. i was however, pleasantly surprised.
great food in this book, with some real chef techniques being used, all stunningly presented.
great book from a great chefs, mine is still at work!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
i really liked this book with great recipes and stunning photo's
also likes white writing on black pages very different to other cook books
i have tried a couple of dishes and found them easy but there again i am a pro chef

would recommend to others
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
Brent Savage in this book, presents cheap seasonal ingredients up very expensive, and combines them into stunning combination, using modern and classical cooking techniques erecting lovely and very interesting dishes making this book a Best Seller and ultimate tool for a professional cook
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
Bought this for my brother who is a chef for a living (Horn of Plenty Devon) - he was totally consumed with the contents for hours. Some amazing food in this book & great pictures.

The book is a solid hard back, with thick (heavy weight) paper, matt finish to the pages, and wonderful colour.

Overall very impressed :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
Brent Savage delivers a brilliant collection of original recipes paired with beautiful photography. This is contemporary cuisine at its best. The recipes use a small number of ingredients and equipment from the world of molecular gastronomy which may not be available in every kitchen, but the ingredients are ever more accessible and the equipment used in the book is not much more adventurous than a stovetop smoker and a dehydrator - nothing that would break the bank for an aspiring foodie. While many of the recipes are elaborate, the elements of each dish described in detail and many are easily made. If the dishes are time consuming to create, it does not make them complicated.

I would love to see more cookbooks in a similar style. Sat Bains and Brett Graham spring to mind.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2011
A book I would recommend for serious working chefs with an eye for impeccable presentation and some knowledge in molecular gastronomy!
The layout and presentation is beautiful, as are the pictures! There is an Introduction into the specialist equipment and ingredients needed to recreate the recipes, which are far from the complexities of the fat duck cook book but not for amateurs! and can be re-created in most well equipped professional kitchens. Some very Interesting flavour combinations.
An excellent book for ideas, and an Interesting book to flick through, A challenging book for professional!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
I bought this for my husband as part of his Christmas. He is so happy with it. He always has his nose in it :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
Brought for my husband who is a professional chef and he was very pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)