Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
71
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2009
Probably the most used cookbook i own! The recipes are easy to follow and all turn out lush looking and tasting cakes - would definetly recommend it
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 15 October 2014
I brought this on a whim, and at this price why not? I’m glad I did, as there are a heap of delicious treats in this book to satisfy any cook’s desire to create, and any scoffer’s desire to eat yummy things.

This is a book published in the Murdoch Book series, and they are always good – collected from various sources, always with wonderful colour pictures to illustrate each recipe, the recipes are straightforward and accessible (no weird or wacky ingredients), written in a very straightforward and easy to follow manner, and ready for any cook to tackle. I have a number of the cookbooks published by Murdoch Books and they are great investments. The books are well presented, they stay open properly (always important in the kitchen environment) and the recipes are always failsafe.

This book has sections divided into: light, rich, crumbly, and sticky. What more could you want? From Apple shortcake, to Pecan Brownies, to Rum and Raisin Cake, to Vanilla Slice, Orange and Almond Syrup Cake and Butter Almond Torte – there’s enough here to keep us happy in the kitchen for quite a while. I am about to tackle the Rum and Raisin slice which sounds delightfully tasty as well as rather decadent. Can’t wait.
66 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
Really easy recipes and a massive hit in the office where I work! Loads of "brownie" points (pardon the pun)!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
We have worked our way through this book and tried many of the recipes. They are easy to follow and the instructions are clear, resulting in some very successful cakes. The variety is also very good: From sticky to crumbly, from chocolate to fruit and nuts. Something for everyone. Every kitchen should have a copy!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2010
Lovely cake recipes in here great value for the money, have tried loads already and they are very easy to follow and turn out exactly as the picture!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2010
This is a brillant little book i have made quite a few cakes and they have all come out the way they should, it's worth every penny
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2010
Very pleased with the book some gorgeous cake recipes with easy directions. Would recommend to anyone who likes baking.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2011
I was recommended this book and was not disappointed. It has some unusual cakebakes and each one tried has come out exactly as the book shows. I would highly recommend this Australian Cook Book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
If you're interested in creating rather than simply cooking, then
you should have it. I've tried a dozen of the recipies. They were
easy, tasty and presentable! It's packed with ideas, so easy, that
you'll need just ONE book :this one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
This recipe book is divided into four sections: 1) light, 2) rich, 3) crumbly and 4) sticky. It contains a few basic recipes, such as Butterfly cupcakes, Flourless chocolate cake and Sponge sandwich with jam and cream, but I would say that the majority of the recipes are just a little bit out of the ordinary, so most people will find something new here that they will enjoy baking and eating. I have made the Snickerdoodle slice, which is not particularly complicated, is cinnamon based and turns out very well.The sponge sandwich (minus the cream) was also good. This little book should make a welcome addition to your kitchen bookshelf.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)