Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 April 2017
Great bargain and offers some realistic views where not everything is perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
This 320-page book - the 7th (print) edition of January 2013 - is an interesting and readable guide to the French Mediterranean coast region of Provence and the Cote d’Azur. This is a well-designed and presented guide, with useful maps. This is not a glossy guide with lots of colour pictures, but it is a well-designed and laid out guide, with colour used only sparingly. It is intended to be a helpful guide to things to see and do, and not just a list of things to see and do.

It is broken down into four major sections:

Page 2 - Plan Your Trip:
This section is an introduction to Provence and the Cote d’Azur, what to look out for (16 Top Experiences), what you need to know in advance, and other important touristy stuff.

Page 44 - On the Road (“The Guide”):
P046: Nice, Monaco and Menton
P080: Cannes and around
P110: St-Tropez to Toulon
P140: Marseille to Aix-en-Provence
P172: Arles & the Camargue
P187: Avignon & around
P223: Hill Towns of the Luberon
P239: Haute-Provence & the Southern Alps

Page 259 - Understand Provence:
This section has articles on local culture - history, cuisine, arts, lifestyles, etc.

Page 285 - Survival Guide:
This section contains the A-Z Directory, details on transport and language, and the Index.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
I purchased this guide book after borrowing an earlier edition together with similar books from the local library. I found it the most informative about the area of France which I plan to visit.
I'm not planning to camp or backpack, but nevertheles there is plenty of information about the area's attractions, eating places, etc.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
I have read and used a lot of guides from Lonely Planet. The quality, of course, varies from one guide to another (and sometimes, from one edition to another, of the same guide), but overall, I have been reasonably satisfied. This guide, however, has been the most underwhelming one I have seen so far. It looks like a glorified tourist brochure, rather than a guide with concrete details and practical information. Very, very disappointed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Very useful guide! Every time I travel, I get the Lonely Planet books. It had all the current information, good suggestions and tips. Made my travel to French Riviera easier without browsing all the info.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Good
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Great product and usual fast service from Amazon. Thanks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
It helps in planning trips in Provence. Everything is in great detail and informative. Ideal for visitors to the wonderful South of France.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Loads of Info on different areas, things to do etc. would recommend. Not many pictures though, which I do like to see.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
If you love the idea of touring France, this is the ideal book for Provence.You read it and just want to be there!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)