Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2014
I bought the Kindle edition of this book for our 6 month trip around South America and I have to say it was almost useless. Too much information on where to party, and so little information on some of the great small little places that as backpackers we are aiming to see and experience. Also I hate that now every city/town comes with a two page warning. Yes we are all aware South America can be dangerous but it's enough to put you off visiting a city when the description of every place and activity is followed by warnings of muggings and kidnappings.
I am so disappointed in this new edition, the information is minimal and vague, plus some amazing places are missed out entirely.
Also I would think this being a Kindle edition that they would be able to issue downloadable updates as all of the prices and info are out of date. Ie. The Quilmes ruins are closed due to a judicial dispute but if you walk the 5km up the road and speak to the locals they will let you in for 20pesos.
Will not be using lonely planet for my next trip.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2017
OKAY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Some useful information but sadly, the 2014 version is not as up to date as expected.

At the moment we are travelling in Chile and not only are the prices well out in a lot of cases, but the information on attractions is not up to date. For example, in San Pedro de Atacama, the museum hasnt displayed the skulls and mummies that the book waxes lyrical about since 2007. Bit shoddy.

So, ok if you are somewhere you can double check information on the internet.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
no more to add
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
This is the book to get you inspired for your trip, especially for backpackers. But sometimes there just isn't enough detail, and then you end up having to buy more books for the places you decide to visit
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
Brilliant, and a lot cheaper than the high street!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2016
Good for general consulting and for brief histories of the different countries. However be warned that a lot of the information is outdated! This includes prices of entry fees into museums/ tours and actually on occasion it actually failed to mention relatively new museums (post 2010)!!! Hostels or bars recommended seem completely different to what was described. All this suggests the authors haven't bothered to properly update their guides each year. Very frustrating as they are costly enough when you do a lot of travelling. My advice- save youself some money and buy a second hand copy and use alongside the internet to find up to date opening times of places etc. It's just not worth buying "updated" version s when clearly that is what they are not!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
This book is just excellent and with great information. It comes with maps that help with rough information, and has some great tips, especially on information on moving around.
Great buy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
Present for my daughter who is off on her travels, it's large than she would have liked as she is taking the minimum, but still apparently an essential item, so must be good!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
I've only glanced through this book because I'm not going to South America just yet. It starts off with 15 main sights to visit starting with Machu Picchu. It seems to cover all the main towns, with maps, historical information, details about wildlife and the temperature in each place for each month. It seems to be the only guidebook you would need for South America.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)