Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 27 June 2012
I bought this book as I was planning to take a road trip throughout tuscany in June 2012. It was remarkably handy to have before, throughout and after the trip! It was perfect for references of places, reading on the history of the places, and helped incredibly a lot in deciding what to see and what to miss.

However, what I loved most about the book was the detailed recommendations/reviews for places to eat - whether it was an expensive, fancy restuarant or a 'hole-in-the-wall' in Florence for a sandwich. We never visited an overly expensive place or had a bad experience because of it.

Nonetheless, there was some disadvantages of the book. As it was covering Florence AND Tuscany, it was aiming to cover a lot in very little room. There was no one map of tuscany for driving - although that proved not to be so difficult because of signs everywhere. I also felt that it missed out on a few towns/villages/landscapes that were absolutely perfect - but this is only a matter of an update in the next version!

Overall, a well set out book with recommendations, stories, history, descriptions and in-depth advise.

Highly recommended!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2013
A must have guide, full of information from travelling around, eating out, hotels, places to visit. We went to areas which we hadn't heard of before reading this guide. Although the Internet offers plenty of advice on Tuscany, nothing can replace having a book in your hand to plan you days when there. They are so cheap considering how much information is in it. Perhaps to big to carry around with you, but ideal to tuck in your luggage, plan your day, then leave in your hotel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2012
The lonely planet guides and rough guides are my preferred travel guides.
Both are a bit thin on how to get from A to B, and seem to assume that most of us drive cars. Well I don't and anyway you see much more when you are not driving.
I realise it is hard to be up to date about trains and buses, so give more in the way of websites.
Beware, some italian websites are out of date, so always check locally.
My hotel actually only regurgitated the website............not a lot of use either!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2013
I enjoyed using this guidebook on the whole. Most of the recommendations and descriptions were accurate. It was particularly useful for Florence and Lucca. However, it was quite dismissive of several beach towns on the Versilia Riviera, which I really enjoyed visiting. So if you think a place looks good but the guide book has not given it much page room, and/or has been mildly derogatory/dismissive, don't be put off from checking it out!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2013
Whilst there is no substitute for going to a place, chatting to locals and exploring yourself, this Lonely Planet has a decent stab at it. I've just returned from 2 weeks in Pisa, Florence and the surrounding area, and this book was very handy with information about the important things to see in each spot, transport etc. However, the coverage is a little too brief on some of the smaller places, and very detailed when it comes to the Uffizi and other main sites - hence the 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2012
This book proved very useful on our holiday in Tuscany. It would be useful to have more information on individual wine chateau's to visit and how it works. (unless I missed this bit?). More info on the ZTL areas in the cities would help, perhaps a line on the maps and picture of the signs?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2013
Yes used this book constantly in Florence and Siena. Mostly good recommendations and easy to use as all these books are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2015
The guide is great, well-maintained. Only the map is a bit torn, but it's a second hand book! As LP guides, useful and full of tips!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2015
Missing Pull out map of Venice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2013
Full of snippets of information about the major attractions. The restaurant reviews were spot on. No more eating in overpriced tourist venues just fantastic food at every budget level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)