Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
9
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2012
Lonely Planet guides are usually top quality but this being the whole of western europe it only focus' on the main cities and it a bit to genera, if you know where your going rather than just touring then buying individual countries maybe a better optin. I was most dissapointed in the veron and venice sections there are so much to do in this part and it was very limited. Nature of the beast i guess. still a good buy if you want something genral
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
It has many countries: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Britain, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland. Useful information is provided: transportation, accommodation, maps and introduction of sights; even the disscounts of those are included in the book such as the one day transpot card.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
I like the guide and the information about all the countries. It shows the best of each country. The only negative point and what make me not enjoy the lonely planet guides is the lack of pictures. for those who want to know a country for the 1st time it's important to see some pictures about that country.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
Pros - covers lots of countries in one book; main points at main cities of interest are written about; clear and concise descriptions; addresses of places (including tourist info offices) are really useful - especially if using a sat nav

Cons - bulky to carry around; is obviously not extensive so some areas aren't covered at all and I missed having those little details about places I might pass when driving between different cities; some of the prices/opening times are inaccurate despite being a new edition (though I suppose this should be expected and they can act as a guide)

Overall, great book and does what it says - would recommend if you are travelling to a number of countries in one trip.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
This is definately good as a general guide. For more country specific detail you need to check out the appropriate guides. If you are travelling around Europe and just want 'one' book this will serve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
To be fair to LP, cramming WE into a single book would be too big a task, and as it seems, it was.
The book does cover a lot, but it lacks detail in many areas.
First attempt to use it was in Sicily, where it really did not cover much.
This is a good book for city hopping, for people only covering capitals and main cities but nothing else.
Still a good guide if you have a long trip and cannot afford the weight/space/price of individual guides.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
Sadly this does not work on kindle. Navigation is poor , having to word search for places and the review location. Having toured France and Germany there is little to recommend ont the areas of the Rhine, collar and even Paris. Suggest stick to the country books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Bought this for a Canadian friend who is studying here for a year. Gives a good overview pre-travel but would be too bulky to carry around if just visiting a couple of countries?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
For first time travelers, this is an excellent book with maps, eateries, hotels and highlights of most cities within Western Europe. A must buy for travelers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)