Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 3 January 2006
This book aims to give a view of Buenos Aires which really sells it short. Focussing only on the frantic, hectic, all night long, young, super cool, flashy and utterly shallow aspects of the city. If you're very young and you only travel so you can always feel like you're in a disco in Ibiza, buy it. If you want some alternative insight into a fascinating, scruffy, historic, genteel, polite, beautiful and occasionally savage city, ignore most of its breathless attempts and try another one.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
This was a great book in terms of giving a brief history of Buenos Aires, a lot of details about culture and had great recommendations. However, even though it was published in 2011, with the rapid inflation currently going on in BA all the prices listed were wrong. Entry fees were often 2 or 3 times more expensive than the book states. Not really the book at fault, but something to be aware of.

Half the book was dedicated to eating, shopping and sleeping. Personally I would have preferred more of the book dedicated to site-seeing as there is a lot to see in BA.

Had a good section on how to get around BA, and good advice about how to stay safe. Also all the restaurants recommended in the book that we went to were great restaurants.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2012
This book contains all the information a tourist needs for the Argentine capital. Shopping, restaurants, clubbing, sports and hotels all have a mention. The book is easy to use as it brakes Buenos Aires up in neighbourhoods. There is a section for day trips out of the city and one even for going across the River Plate to Montevideo, Uruguay. The back of the book contains more useful informations like climate, language, public holidays, medical services, cash, tours, safety and tipping. The book ends with some handy phrases and a pocket street map and subte/metro map to prevent you from getting lost when out and about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2011
I found this book very detailed, nicely laid out and full of useful information, but it was really aimed at the North American reader, rather than the European one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
This edition of the Lonely Planet Buenos Aires dates from 2011 and the prices are all wrong due to inflation. If you're not going to Argentina just yet, I'd recommend you wait until August 2014 when the new edition comes out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Great guidebook, as any other from Lonely Planet. Lots of interesting info and the layout is also very handy.
However, I would like some more alternatives mentioned in there, like Barrio Almagro, which is almost entirely omitted in the guide, but fascinating and representative of young, working class Portenos, which for me are a valid part of Buenos Aires society.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2004
I used the guide while I was in Argentina. It was compact, informative, and up to date. What else do you need?
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2005
Laminated and doesn't fall appart if you spill something on it (or sweat on it, which is more likely in Buenos Aires). The short tour listed on the map isn't particularly good, but the selection of maps is very comprehensive.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
This guide book was great really helps us find good place to go out to party and find good meal. Also there is alot of information about the history of brazil which I found very interesting.good guide book
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
handy little pocket book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse