Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 September 2009
Detailed, covers everything you need to know, our book was well worn after 5 weeks! Also info on bangkok is good enough to start your holiday when you first arrive!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2007
The Lonely Planet books are very useful for all budgets, covering backpackers to those who like to splash their cash. This book covers all the Thai islands and coastal areas, as well as an extensive section on Bangkok.

It includes details of transportation between all the different areas which is really handy if you are making your own way around Thailand, and there are tips on scams to avoid etc. It also includes the usual information of accommodation, eating options, things to do etc.

I would highly recommend getting this book if you are planning to travel around Thailand as it will be an invaluable source of information.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2010
This book isnt as big as the other country guides from Lonely Planet which is ideal for shorter trips. We were only in the islands and Bangkok and was super useful for our trip.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2011
bought this for a very short stop in Thailand.
i was interested in Bangkok, Krabi and Phi Phi, which it covered pretty well.
It really inspired meto visit all other islands and beaches.
looking forward to going back!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2009
Plenty of information, some good illustrations, decent maps of the islands and their resorts, very good purchase for travellers in Thailand.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2010
Great information on the country that is aimed at the independent traveller. Good info on all sorts of subjects from food, travel , place to visit etc. We are going on an organised trip so not sure how relevant alot of this would be for us but an interesting read to find out more about Thailand itself. Small enough to pack even for a backpacker
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2011
Arrived in good time and very useful. Everything you need to know about traveling around Thailand and the islands. Would be better if you didn't have to keep converting the prices from Thai baht.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2012
Bought this for my son who was travelling to Thailand - he doesnt normally enjoy reading but really loved this book and found it really useful
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2010
After spending a month recently in Thailand exploring Bangkok and 3 islands I can confirm this book was absolutely useless. The reviews of accomodation are so general, everything sounds the same and are very misleading. It does not state simple facts such as if it is clean, if there is air conditioning, and if the location is good. It seems as if whoever has written this book has only viewed the places from the very misleading websites. The only good aspect of the book is the general information at the beginning warning you of scams etc to look out for, and aspects of Thai culture to follow. However I am sure this information can be found on any good website. I would highly recommend you buy a different guide book that knows what it is talking about, this one has clearly not done the sufficient research to be advising people.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2012
I bought this book to do some research prior to my holiday in Thailand, I plan to visit Bangkok, then Koh Phangan and Koh Samui. I found the sections to be clear and thorough and enjoyed the extensive section on Bangkok itself as well as detailed sections on each island. This book will be a great reference point when I am travelling and would highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse