Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 19 March 2013
Good to get a feel of the place and give inspiration on places to visit.
Lacks detail on places reviewed.
Biggest let down for Futureventure the Island I used the book for no maps for any locations except an island overview.
Disapointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
We have not been to the island befor and we didn't want to sit on a lounger by the pool.

With practical tips such as parking difficulties, as well as clear up to date information on towns to visit and which restaurants serve a aprticular kind of food this book contributed to an excellent winter week away from the crowds.

We would never have made the effort to visit to volcano without the phrase 'Visit the volcano - it will be a highlight'. How right they were, we went back for a second visit.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
The kindle version (like my non colour version) has the important drawback of presenting small and blurry maps, all too difficult to follow. Additionally, the tourist information provided is just all too basic and does not give many choices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
I went to the Canaries with my girlfriend, and this was such a nice book to have there to read all about the reviews and recommendations. If a place isn't worth visiting, it tells you exactly why. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Lots informations, good guide. Recommended if you want to visit the real soul of Tenerife. I would suggest to rent a car to have more flexibility in visiting all these places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Probably a big book to carry, but on the itouch it didn't use a lot of room. The info was exhaustive and easy to find. Maps could be improved for digital use though...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
Taking into consideration that this 279-pages Guide covers 7 islands there is great information !!
Lots of nicely updated stuff about hotels and restaurants.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
A typical LP book: full of useful information (but with a format that is not as helpful as the earlier style). I rarely travel anywhere without an LP.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Lonely planet are the best travel guides by far. I wouldn't change them, it's an absolute must for every trip.
It also arrived very fast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
This edition was published in January 2012, yet for La Gomera in several places it lists water taxi services between ports on the island.. which were discontinued in November 2008. Not something that it would be difficult for the editors to check up on. I suspect many of the reviews were similarly out of date:
- on La Palma the glowing "Top Choice" review for eating in the capital Santa Cruz - Taburiente - was sorely disappointing. Rather than the "traditional Canarian cuisine through and through", it was a choice of a great long list of meats all of which just got fried and served with chips.
- on Tenerife, "Restaurante Fortuna Nova" in Los Cristianos (described as "classically spanish") in fact served an uninspiring range of international food; I struggled to find much spanish stuff on the menu and what I had wasn't very good. Still a very nice shady terrace though.

Having said which, the guide was very useful in giving a good idea of how the islands differed both in culture, facilities and in what you might (or might not) be looking for. This seemed to tie in well with descriptions given to me by other people who had visited many of the islands. And don't let this put you off visiting the islands.. there are still wonderful places to visit, stay and eat - but perhaps more up-to-date review and search sites like tripadvisor and booking.com are more reliable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)