Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 March 2017
This was a great reference for my trip to Korea. Gave me maps and transport directions to get to all the sites I wanted to visit. Took it with me everywhere. Met some Israeli tourists who had the Hebrew version. Defacto guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
The introduction to Seoul is incredibly pesimistic and I don't think it really captures Korea at all. Plus there are very few pictures to inspire you to visit the many beautiful sights of Korea.

Best advice is to find a local and get them to either show you round or at least suggest the many places (especially in the Southwest) that you should visit.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
I bought a number of e-books on a recent 10-day trip to Seoul. Only this one and the Frommer's guide were of any significant use at all.

I generally avoid Lonely Planet because I hate their writing style and find their maps utterly useless but this one was an exception to the genre and was well written, helpful and informative. The maps on the Kindle version are of course far too small to read and bundled together page after page meaning lots of useless flicking around, so instead pick up a free printed map from any of the many tourist information places around Seaoul and use that.

The information about the top sights and the fact that they'd included the Korean script names of everywhere was useful. As always, LP doesn't go into too much depth in its explanations but it's enough to get the basics and understand what you're looking at.

Overall it gave good information and was reasonably updated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
I usually buy the DK Eyewitness books or Time Out books when travelling, but this time neither covered Korea so went with Lonely Planet. The book is fairly thorough in that it covers most cities and towns that a western traveller would want to visit as well as some off the beaten track locations. The book covers accommodation, travel, best sights, restaurants for each of the cities and towns, and because it was revised in 2010, is fairly up to date. My main criticism is that there aren't enough photos to give a visual flavour of the country, and maps (especially for smaller towns like Gyeongju and Busan) could be better. I'd personally prefer a 'top 10 sights to see' approach to the towns with some pictorial accompaniments rather than a grey list. Also, it doesn't always explain how to get to some of the less urban places like mountain parks, e.g. Haeinsa.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2005
While covering the major sights that most tourists see, and having decent maps, far too much of this book is involved in endless listing of accomodation and restaurant options.Most sights are only covered in the most perfunctory way and very little attempt is made to convey the character of this exciting vibrant country. If you want a more detail and interesting read aimed at cheaper travel and seeing unusual sights then Moon Handbooks is a much better option.
Although usable this lacklustre book is typicall of the increasingly monotonous lonely planet brand.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
Travelled around S.Korea for three weeks, the book was extremely helpful in doing research on the place before we travelled and finding out the major attractions.
The maps are extremely poor and although tourist maps are available in all major places, I felt this should have been better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
To explore Korea with this book is wonderful. It gives you more than the touristic places, and pushes you to see more of the country. Like every Lonely Planet Book it is a book you will be consulting when you are traveling around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
This book was useful when planning my trip to Korea. Some info was a little dated but there is a new issue due. For planning and on road help it was perfect for my needs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2012
Lonely Planet, as always, does not disappoint.
The book is good, the writing is clear and it provides the reader with all the necessary information for a good travel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
Just got back from travelling around Korea for 2 weeks, this book was a godsend, we consulted it every step of the way and it never let us down, we are widely travelled and have found other Lonely Planet books a little patronising, not this one, every direction was spot on, the recommendations excellent and it was well worth buying.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)