Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
17
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2011
We downloaded this guide on to our kindle for a five week trip around Indonesia. The kindle version is appallingly bad to use to the point where it began to ruin our trip. It is incredibly difficult to negotiate around, the maps are unreadable with the legends ending up on different pages so you had to keep scrolling backwards and forwards to see what the numbers were referring to. The links within the pages to other areas in the book generally took you somewhere completely different to where it should have been and there is no ability to flick from the map pages to say the eating or sleeping descriptions making it difficult to read about somewhere you wanted to go and then find it on the map. It is basically just the book PDFed onto the kindle with no added features to make it usable, considering that when you normally use a guide book you spend most of your time flicking through referring to several pages at once. I thought the ability to book mark would help but unfortunately when bookmarking there is no way you can name the bookmarks and this makes it very difficult to know which of the many bookmarks you have relate to what you are looking for.
Having now used other media on the kindle like the guardian newspaper I now realise how possible it is to make non linear reading material usable on the kindle and only highlights how incredibly lazy lonely planet have been in transferring their paper guides into a kindle format. This is a huge shame because the ability to have all our guide books on the kindle for travelling was one of the main reasons we bought it because how amazing it would be not to have to carry all that extra weight.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
As always informative but kindle issue bit tricky with maps and flicking from page to page. Also not the best book for real opinions on places. Not the best lonely planet book by a mile.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
Recently visited java, Lombok, Gillii and Bali. This guide was OK but often outdated especially when it came to the reviews of hotels and bars. It also had some misinformation on travel arrangements. So whilst ok I ended up making more use of the Internet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
This guide is incredibly useful if travelling to Indonesia. I met some other people whilst there who had a guide but it wasn't 'Lonely Planet' and they struggled to find certain places that the guide had mentioned. This Lonely Planet guide is incredibly accurate and very helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2012
A very comprehensive and updated guide for Indonesia. A very simple guide to take you through the vast area.
I purchased this book for the Sumatra section and have more that enough to plan out a road trip!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
If you were thinking of saving space in your bag by buying this on kindle, don't bother! It is so UN-user-friendly. If you are used to the lonely planet style and want to flick between pages and use the maps it is just impossible! Wish I'd spent my money on the actual book instead...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
As usual it's fantastic! I had the 2000 Edition (which is still very good) but I thought we'd need more up-to-date information regarding Nusa Tenggara. This book delivers exactly what I was hoping for!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2011
I bought this book prior to a journey to Indonesia as it seemed to have a lot of information. A lot of the background information was useful, however some of the content was out of date which is more than frustrating when locals try explain this in broken english after hours worth of explaining of what you want to find. in particular, the travelling section needed a thorough update.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2012
An excellent guide in all respects to the major land mass areas in Indonesia.
Don't expect to see a significant selection of road maps but there are other publications available for this purpose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
I love guidebooks and this was a good one.

I took it for a 2 months trip around Indonesia and it proved excellent.

In particular there is much detail and its very up to date.

Dont go without it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse