Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2008
Forget the tourist uniform of backpack and Lonely Planet/Rough Guide in hand.... you're going to need both hands to carry all the 'bargains' that the salesmen of Marrakech have so considerately helped you spend your money on!

This is a tremendous little guidebook to carry in your pocket as you wander round Marrakech.
The old Medina is a rabbit-warren of alleyways (you WILL get lost, so enjoy the experience!), so to have a well thought out little book like this on you is a real help. It is just the right size (and weight!) to slip into the leg pocket of your combat trousers or back pocket of your jeans, and has just enough practical information about sights of interest, shopping, restaurants etc etc, to keep you busy. I found that whilst I do have an interest in the politics of 17th Century Morocco, I was quite content to leave my full-size, full-on guidebook at the hotel for a bedtime read, and just go for a walk to see what I could see.

This book is different from many others in that it is organised by neighbourhoods, each with a detailed map of the area. I found these maps to be significantly more use than most I saw, as you will need to navigate not by street signs but by landmarks, and these maps are full of helpful landmarks (what signs there are- and they are fairly few and far between!- are mainly in Arabic of course). They are also not fold out maps, just pages in the book, which makes using them quicker and easier too.

My only real criticism is that I would have liked to see more information on cheaper places to eat in each neighbourhood. The suggestions they do have were often a little pricey, and in my opinion- in Marrakech at least- pricey certainly isn't to be equated with better; the best places I found to eat (very) well, were also the slightly more rough and ready places, which perhaps this guide's authors didn't care for!

I always find Lonely Planet books the best laid out and easiest to use. Their full-size 'Morocco' guide has a rather brief, if helpful, section on Marrakech; and their 'Best of Marrakech' guide is very good too (with a lot of the information duplicated in this book), but the excellent layout and design of this book, not to mention it's physical size, shape and weight, gave it the edge for me.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Great, just as advertised
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2006
Only someone who has not been to Marrakesh can complain about the book. I just used it with 2 friends to spend 5 days in this wonderful city and it was truly thorough, giving us some great itineraries to eat, shop and use the Imams (get the exfoliating massage) without getting lost in the maze of the Old City or the Souks. A most definite buy if you are going. And by all means do go.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2010
I used this for my trip to Marrakech in Dec/Jan, and it was fantastic. I was only in the center for 3 days and it ended up being invaluable especially for places to eat, and shop, as well as what to see. There's a map at the back which in the end didn't get used at all, but the maps of each area were very good, and we even managed to find our way through the souks! Definitely recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2011
The most useful feature of this guide is its size which allows it to be carried discretely in your pocket - an important feature in a city when visitors are regularly assailed by young people offering their services as a guide. The pull-out pocket map of the city is also useful, again, it can be stored easily in a pocket. However, both the book and map are incomplete. The Lonely Planet title once stood for independent travel; this book is targeted at the many people now arriving in budget airlines. My older edition of the Lonely Planet on Morocco has more on Marrakesh than this book. The map is very useful if you are staying in the central areas of the medina or the new town, but anyone relying on it for guidance in the central to northern parts of the medina will be utterly reliant on a compass and guesswork. The medina, famously, is a maze, so any company selling a map is surely under an obligation to provide a reasonable level of detail. Listing every alleyway is, of course, impossible, but main thoroughfares in the northernmost part of the medina should be named. Having said all that, the book is reasonably well organised and its restaurant recommendations are worth following. Nevertheless, anyone seriously interested in Marrakesh (and making even daytrips beyond) should look instead at published guides to Morocco and try to acquire a Marrakesh map from a local hotel after arrival.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
The guide deals with the various areas of Marrackech systematicly and over-laps reveiws so the reader can pickup and put down. Not designed to read cover to cover as the over-laps repeat. No guide can prepare you really for Marrakech. So be ready for time of full on in your face and more as the writer says. The Guide is pocket sized but you will need a good map. It could be read daily for an insight in to the days sightseeing and area by area. You will get out what you put in............
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2009
Useful book for carrying around. It has enough detail, but is small enough to fit in a pocket whilst walking round the city. The detacheable map was also quite good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2010
Very nice sized pocket book. Colourful pictures and good information. Details on some lovely Riads, which we then looked up on the internet. Useful map on the inside back cover which you can pull out and unfold and could fit in your pocket on your travels.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2008
Perhaps a little dated, but many of the recommendations for restarants still stand the test of time. The maps are poor (as other reviewers commented). We supplemented this book with a decent map and the combination was fine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
Good little pocket sized book to have if you want to get as much done in Marrakesh is a few short days. Bought this as well as the Morocco guide. Used both a lot, and it had a great little pull out map attached. Would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)