Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2003
I really recommend this book as a must if you want to do any serious walking in Chile. The book lists all the essentials to bring and what to expect, even where to get camping gas. The walks are selected in order of difficulty and days, with photos of what you will see on the way and where camping and huts are located. I managed to walk round chile for 2 months without the aid of any expensive group travel and with little Spanish, just armed with my LP. The walks selected, especially the torres del paine are spectacular, its a definite must for the would be walker!!!
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2000
A typical LP trekking guide book. Very thourough and detailed, with good maps and and trek descriptions. Useful tips concerning where to buy trekking supplies and accessories in remote areas. Makes possible solo trekking even at most difficult treks. The language section is appropriate and does not double those of other LP South American guidebooks, concentrating on trekking-related phrases and words. The only weak point is probably the language. In my opinion, an average trekker, whose native language is not English, will stumble a lot upon many of the phrases and words used in the text.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Excellent and complete description of a few dozen of the best trails in this region that is absolutely stunning: the Chilean and Argentine Patagonia, one of the most beautiful regions of the world. The guide was very helpful on a recent trip (April 2014) for the region of Torres del Paine and El Chalten.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
One of my best trekking trips, planned according to this book, amazing landscape, I help me make the best of the limited time I had (three weeks only)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2010
In the way and style of all the guides of Lonely Planet, this new edition of this "little classic" maintains the high level of the old guides written by the sadly deceased Clem Lindenmayer.
I think this is an essential book for every body who want to go to Patagonia to trek.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
No-one planning an independent trekking holiday in the Patagonian Andes of Chile and Argentina should be without it. Covers the main tourist traps of Paine and Fitzroy, but also many routes which will appeal to those wishing to trek far from the madding crowd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2012
I had bought Clem Lindenmayer's guide back in 1998 before my first trip to Patagonia, so decided to get up-to-date with this edition by Carolyn McCarthy for my trip south in January 2012.
Before even getting off the plane, however, I noticed a few errors that should really have been spotted before going to print.
For example, having Isla Navarino labelled for 2 different locations on the inside cover was not a good start! Then I noticed the climate data on page 229 had Ushuaia with a tropical climate - average max temp close to 30 Celsius - at 55 degs South? Hard to believe!
Down on the ground, however, I found it very useful and generally accurate for the 2 areas I explored; Torres del Paine and Parque Nacional Los Glaciares.
In particular, those trail maps in the guide that I used were clear and a very welcome addition to the maps I acquired locally, although I did think that some depiction of contouring en-route would be useful.
Also, perhaps some of the trail details could have been a little clearer on any technical issues. For example, the Laguna Sucia side trip on page 173 actually requires some scrambling out of the river bed and over a promontory and perhaps this could have had a brief mention?
All in all, though, a welcome companion and I hope to go back to Patagonia next year and do a few more of the routes suggested in this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Bought it as a gift for someone who is about to trek the Patagonian Andes and they loved it| gave all the the info they wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
not as much information/detail on how to get around within Patagonia. Also would be better to detail more one--day treks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
Exactly as expected, prompt delivery and very useful for planning an intended trip to the area later in the year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)