Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 September 2010
A very useful book for a tourist that does not know the language. You learn the cyrillic letters easily, find the basic phrases (like "thank you") from inner cover, and get some good insight to the language and the country. Very good bang for a buck here!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2010
A very handy phrasebook, we couldn't have managed without it. It has lots of useful sections, especially on food, and a small english - ukranian dictionary in the back. Nice and compact so easy to carry around.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
Haven't given it 5 as thought the ease of finding some areas not perfect but overall gives good guidance on pronunciation and key expressions - have been able to find what I think we'll need for a trip on the overnight train, in the hotel and I don't think we'll starve! It's been fun learning!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2009
i bought this little book for my trip to "ukraine" and not "the ukraine" as most people would call it..
This book has everything you need to survive your time in ukraine and the locals will take to you if they see you are trying to take an interest in the country's culture and language rather than get them to try and comunicate all in english...... 10/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
In planning my trip to Ukraine I decided to get the phrasebook as well as the guidebook and thank God I did. Navigating Ukraine with just English proved very difficult and almost all signs are in the cyrillic alphabet. The Ukrainian phrasebook is really easy to use and explains in an easy to understand language which letters and sounds the cyrillic letters equate in the roman alphabet. I didn't spend enough time in Ukraine to be able to start using actual phrases, but just knowing basic things like "yes", "no" and numbers 1-10 went a long way. This is a great buy for a shorter stay in Ukraine!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
Lonely Planet have written an excellent little phrase book (with phonetics) on the Ukrainian language, but since this language uses the Russian Alphabet, it would be advisable for a tourist/ traveller to have a good grasp of the latter!!! The "down side" is the fact that the author oversimplifies how easy it is to speak this Ukrainian tongue which is totally extraneous to the Western European Roman and Romantic group of languages!
It takes a lot of practise to try and master the phrases and (as with other languages) it may be easy to ask a question, but boy! 0 boy! is it difficult to understand the response from the native speaker!
Similar to Thomas Cooke's Guidebook to Kiev, there tends to be a simplification of living and talking in the Ukraine!
But without either books one has no real assessment of the culture!!!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Excellent little book at a bargian price. Lots of really useful content including a helpful overview of basic grammar at the beginning. Great point of reference and highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2011
The book is informative, but seems too condensed with information. Some may like this though.
The delivery of the item did not cause any problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Great book, very basic though. However it is a great hand pocket size and would be very useful when traveling or learning few phrases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
A useful phrase book, particularly for eating out, shopping and learning a few, basic phrases, such as thank you, good morning, etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)