Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2008
The most impressive feature of this book are the excellent illustrations and pictures which are some of the best I have ever seen. An introductory section deals with the animal kingdom,classification,evolution,biology,habitats and conservation.
The main directory is divided into 6 parts a)mammels-41 groups, b)birds )24 groups c)reptiles -7groups d)amphibians-4 groups e)fish-19 groups and f)invertebrates-29 groups.
For each section and group there is a general introduction and description which includes origin,geographic distribution,size,food supply and habitat.
The texts while brief are well written and concise.
There is a good glossary.Abook to be recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2012
One of the best animal book I own! And i have a lot! I'm a huge reptile lover and own many of them, this book has amazing pictures and good descriptions on the animal with a short bio on that pacific animal. I would highly suggest this to any of my friends.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
this is the greatest book i own. it contains great fact files on the animals inside, with faboulosly detailed illustarations, thousands of animals are displayed in this book. if your into animals, buy it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
I was really excited to get my hands on this book, and when it came I was not disappointed. The sheer amount of animals in this book is breathtaking, and each with a fantastic illustration. I was sat with a massive grin on my face as I flicked through and saw just how much effort and talent has gone into this book.

It was also a great price!

Only one downside: because there are so many fabulous illustrations, there wasn't room for detailed information. But I guess, it's a 'visual guide' for a reason right? Besides, the perfect animal encyclopedia (every animal species known, amazing pictures and thorough information) would be thousands of pages and a nightmare to carry round.

In summary, I'm very, very pleased with this book and it'll be used for the foreseeable future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
This is one of the best animal reference books that anyone could own. Beautiful colour illustrations, well laid out and good info. Every home should have one of these.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2008
Get it from W.H.Smith's as it's now reduced to £5.00 !! it is an absolute bargain.

This lavishly illustrated trade reference to mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fishes, and invertebrates features hundreds of glorious photos, masterful illustrations, and informative maps.
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Brought this for my baby son who loves animals of all shapes and sizes. Hard to guess what sound they make for him but its fun making the sounds up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Love the book, really clear and bright illustrations. As I do some painting for myself this book is great for reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
Very well written and compiled book with easy referencing to all types of animal life for young and old alike
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
This book was a great buy.lovely illustrations.It is in great condition,very pleased with the order
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)