Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2002
I've owned a copy of this for some time (I bought it as soon as it came out, because I already had a copy of the SAS Survival Handbook and loved that). Both volumes are used on a regular(ish) basis in our house. The Urban Survival Handbook covers all sorts of things including: personal security and self-defence, what to do if you get arrested, household risks (e.g. gas leaks), DIY and craft hazards, Poisons and poisoning first aid, fire risks, transport safety, terrorism, natural disasters and solid health advice.
The writing is no-nonsense and easy to follow, written by an ex-member of the British Special Forces. It's very realistic and even has a sense of humour in places. Highly recommended on all counts!
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
I have to admit i was very disappointed with this book. I loved the original SAS survival handbook and i cant shake the feeling that Mr Wiseman was approached to write this 2nd novel to ride on the coat tails of its success. As ex SAS, the first book was totally within the authors scope, but this urban version reads too much like the sort of general health and safety instructions we are bombarded with in everyday life. Chapters include some good self defence instructions and details for ways to secure your home which i liked, but an awful lot of stuff along the lines of precautions and good practice when using power tools, how to be safe at work from the "hazards", for example the glues used by illustrators/graphic designers. Theres even quite a bit about posture and orientation of computer monitors etc to avoid strain. Even hairdressers get a special mention for their jobs requiring them to stand on their feet all day. All very sensible stuff, its well written, clear and concise, but hardly the life and death stuff youd expect in the book which is the sequel to the brilliant original survival handbook.
Thats my grief with this book. I cant criticise it in any way for its layout, illustration, clarity or writing. Its just the subject matter is so mundane and so ordinary, a lot of the hazards which this book tells us how to avoid are the things we usually use our common sense to avoid. Its all quite patronising in a way. Wherein the 1st book was written for the aspiring crocodile Dundee, this book is for the aspiring 21st century man. Very cautious and "sensible", who can check a hire car for tyre pressure and whether its doors open and close properly (page200), and can recognise the signs of an eating disorder (page 292) and he can organise his workspace to avoid repetitive strain. Be warned, if youre thinking of buying this book because you loved the first like i did, just know that they're two very different books when it comes to subject matter.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2001
This book may not look like much, but it carries a great amount of knowledge that everyone will need and use at one point in their lives. I really recommend this book. It is clear, and describes everything with crystal clear precision. Once you pick it up and start reading, you won't be able to put it down. A handbook that everyone should have.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
A waste of money if you want something more than common sense and how not to stub your toe when cooking. There is one section on the things you think you want this book for, and the things in bold in the product description, but again, these are nothing more than simple, common sense pieces of advice that anyone with half a brain already knows. This will not help one iota in surving the zombie acopalypse!!!!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2001
A Brilliant book, especially in uncertain days, every survival situation covered, one fault to my mind is there is no mention of where you can obtain the survival products mentioned in the book i.e.chemist, camping shop etc.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Bought the original version of this book whilst still serving in the Army [R.E. E.O.D/Pathfinders] thought I knew a lot about survival,this book contains all you need to know,exercise it and use it properly and you WILL learn from it,it has stood me in good stead for nearly thirty years and I still have it,buy it,it's worth every penny!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
Not bad. My only gripe with this book is that although it appears to have a lot of information, the majority of it would be common sense to most people.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2016
Beyond useless. If you are looking for a 1980s housewives home "emergency" guide this is your book. If this is the kind of text the SAS might be interested in regarding urban survival I am deeply concerned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
what a book its like a life bible fast delivery
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
Having spent many a weekend in my youth building traps and practicing field skills using the original SAS Survival Handbook, I bought this book for my girlfriend when she moved out of her parents house into the big city on her own. Naturally, it was never going to rival the original book in my eyes (a 5 star book) but it follows the same format of diagrams , carefully formatted text and straight to the point no nonsense advice. Some of the guidance does lean towards common sense but that I suppose is a matter of personal experience; a country bumpkin would benefit from much more of.the content than someone who is more streetwise. Having said that, there is something for everyone to learn. I don't envisage many people reading this book from cover to cover but if you are a fan of the original book there should definitely be room on your bookshelf for this. It would also be a good book in its own right as a gift for somebody moving to the city.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse