Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2017
The book is C# in depth, but from a very different perspective which doesn't make sense at all. The title "C# history" is more suitable for this book. I really don't understand how on earth knowing the evolution of a programming language helps you learn that language in depth!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
Beware this book is just about language or rather its evolution. You will not find here basic information about condtional sentences, loop, primitive types and so on. Here you will get information how language evolved, why new features were introduced, and how they were implemented. I enjoyed this book because it explained those thnigs to me, so it will help me to use them properly.

If you look for something to begin your adventure with C# go for 'Essential C#' by Mark Michaelis, or for more advanced users 'C# in Nutshell' by Joseph Albahari.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Brilliant book which dives a little deeper into the language as it is today helping you to be a better developer by understanding how C# has evolved. When put in context some of the more complicated aspects just fall into place. Great for those of us who more recently started using c# or anyone who has got left behind and wants to catch up.

Each chapter shows clearly how each new version of the language builds on the previous seeking ways to maximise the language and reduce "boiler plate" code. Personally I think every C# developer could learn a lot from this book but it is perhaps not for everyone. I like seeing the big picture and embrace each new feature as it is released.

Jon Skeet of course needs no introduction - On the off chance you haven't heard of him; Google him now.

A great book best used in combination with C# 5.0 in a Nutshell: The Definitive Reference

Recommended. Reading this book will give you an edge and put you ahead of the rest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
If all you want is getting things done in C#, then this book is an overkill. But, if you are an experienced C# developer and has been baffled by some of the language's behaviour, you need to have this book close at hand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
As the title suggests this is a book for experienced developers who want to really get under the hood of the C# language. Covering previous, versions of the language is good way to show how things have evolved (and is another reason why it's not the book for beginners).

The author's enthusiasm for the subject really shines through and with almost all code samples available for download, this book is best consumed as a hands-on experience. As i suspect is common for a lot of C# developers, i'll always have the feeling that Jon Skeet has probably forgotten more about C# than i've ever known!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
You should buy this book, if you are interested in details in C# and in decisions that were taken during evolution of C# language. This book also examples for interesting cases in how C# compiler works.

As additional bonus, after buying paper version, you also get electronic version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
I should start by saying this book is excellent, a great knowledgable author who has spent a lot of time creating a comprehensive book. However I did have two minor problems with it.

The first is that the writing style is very informal and the result is quite wordy. Cutting out some of this would have resulted in a much shorter read.

The second more major issue is that early chapters just focus on C# 1 and 2. This doesn't really give any advantages to a reader who is targeting newer versions of the framework. In addition it means that the author has to make some silly choices. For example in the chapter on generics he introduces invariance then says what he's about to tell you isn't strictly true anymore, but you'll find out more in chapter 13.

Overall its still a very good book but I do feel with a bit of reorganization and pruning it could have been far better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2017
I highly recommend this book to anyone learning more in depth C#.

This book is aimed at more internediate developers that must have understanding of the C# language to begin with.

The book contains short but concise examples coupled with detailed explanations makes this book a worthwhile read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
As it says on the box. nothing to add. 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Great book - worth every penny - comes with a free e-version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)