Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 7 December 2015
Overall the book is a good introduction to unit testing and I'd recommend it. However there is one thing I found very annoying, and that is the consistent typos and indentation issues in the code examples. Almost every single code example has some random extra space or three at the start of some lines. It's quite annoying when that happens because your mind then has to wonder whether it's indented for a reason, since it associates indentation with specific things... no, just a random indentation again. And then it appears that the code was not written in an IDE but rather just typed on the fly in notepad or something, because there are certain code examples that contain typos which would prevent it from compiling and would show as errors whilst typing in an IDE. Nothing major, it doesn't stop you from understanding what the author is trying to show, but it's just something that adds to the annoyance I feel whilst reading the code. I mean the rest of the book is fine, but almost all the code examples have problems (whether formatting or actual typos) - why? This is the second edition of the book as well!

Anyway as I said it doesn't really detract from the book in a meaningful way, if you want to learn unit testing then I'd still recommend it, it's just an annoyance I wanted to air.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2018
as some one who shyd away from testing and test code this has removed some of the fears....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2017
I must have in your bookshelf
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2016
Started well but seems to turn into a load of lists. Not really sure what if anything I learned from it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2014
I bought this book after watching some of Roy's online videos and reading his articles. If you are starting with unit testing then I suggest this book is a good starting point together with looking at the Pluralsight or other online training videos to get the most out of it. I'm about 75% through the book and it feels slightly repetitive and wished there were more good (and bad) examples of how to test and how not to test. I expected some more 'secrets' from one of the master's of unit testing and its a shame that some of the .NET technologies chosen in the book are probably not the ones you want to use.

In summary a good book but sadly not a gold mine of information.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2016
Delighted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2017
Extremely good book, clearly explained, and it made me understand easily concepts that other books weren't able to.

Worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2014
Great, thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2014
This is not the bible. Bibles are prescriptive and dogmatic. This is pragmatic and thoroughly effective and can really improve the quality of your code.

Buy one for each team member and set aside study time. Remember that not even Kent Beck did TDD properly in his book on it, so don't even think about it.

If anybody runs into a third sprint on a 5-point story and then calls a meeting to discuss whether you should use under_scores or PascalCasing to name test methods then sack him immediately ('cos it *will* be a him) for the sake of the whole team.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2015
interesing
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)