Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
32
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
30
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2017
best gear book going
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
As always, great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
very informative,great pictures.quality tome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When the courier handed me this sucker in its 'fragile' cardboard wrap - I almost felt my wrist snap. This book is big, beautiful and HEAVY. And at under £25 brand new – it’s a perfect present for the Stones nutter in your home.

Released in March 2014 on Backbeat Books (Barcode 884088554453) – "Rolling Stones Gear – All The Stones Instruments From The Stage To Studio" does exactly what it says on the tin – and in drop-dead gorgeous eye-popping detail.

First up is Amazon’s assessment of 500 pages – it has 672. It’s coffee table large and has a US Dollar price of 60. There are 30 chapters beginning with “Britain Gets The Blues” which shows the 1954-1961 influences on our boys by picturing stuff from Lonnie Donegan’s Skiffle LPs to Chuck Berry, Little Walter and Muddy Waters Chess albums. Chapter 2 moves into the extraordinary catalyst that was CCS’s front man and singer Alexis Korner and his influence on the band. But what hits time and time again are the huge amount of stunning pictures…

Every available square around the copious amount of text is filled with gorgeous repro’s of Sixties adverts, Stones gig posters and concert tickets, Bush Record Players, London Record Stores, Harmony Amplifiers, Reslo Microphones, StratoTone guitars, MXR Phase Pedals and so on. By the time you get to the late Sixties – the in-concert photos of guitar wielding Keith Richards, Brian Jones and Mick Taylor are coming out you in full colour and glorious black and white – beautifully cleaned and massively evocative of the times. Bill Wyman and Charlie Watts get their basses and drum kits, Jagger his Mikes, while the fabulous Seventies stuff and beyond features Tour posters, the saxophones used by Bobby Keys and even the letter Mick Jagger wrote to Andy Warhol commissioning the cover of "Sticky Fingers". It’s properly indepth and thrilling to look at.

There’s adverts galore - Hofner Guitars, Gibson Electric and Les Paul Acoustics, Jesselli Guitars, Synthi Multi Hi-Fi Guitar Processors, Ronnie Wood’s custom made Zemaitis Metal Plate and so on. The advert photos are beautiful throughout all the decades - as are the period shots of Alexis Korner, Ronnie with Bo Diddley and a young Ian ‘Stu’ Stewart on piano.

It took New York authors Andy Babiuk and Greg Prevost 10 years to accumulate and narrate this incredible story and they surely must be up for some sort of Book Oscar. Andy Baiuk did a similar tome for The Beatles in 2001 "Beatles Gear" while Greg Prevost is a staff writer for the acclaimed “Ugly Things” magazine. Both are collectors of guitars and music memorabilia and they clearly know their stuff.

Wonderful memories and surely one of the great Rock Books.
Tattoo You and your flabby bottom with this beauty right now…
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
What a wonderfull book, full of détails about the recordings , the Equipment used at different stages of the Stones career. Plus many anecdotes I had never heard of... It covers that , from the beginning in the early 60' until 2008. Pictures of instruments are great. A very well documented.book. Until now the best book about the stones , very cheap too, for the quality of it. 500 pages of real delight of you love the stones, or even if you only love guitars and amps you will find great pleasure in reading it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Being a fan of both The Beatles and The Stones, i was impressed by the authors highly detailed book about Beatle instruments. It shows a wealth of detail for anyone like myself who once played in bands and has an interest in guitars, basses and amplifiers of all makes.
When i read that the author was preparing a similar work for the Rolling Stones, i just had to order this book.It arrived at the weekend and i have read it from cover to cover ( which is quite a lot of pages - this book being almost twice the size of the Beatles book ) Like The Beatles book it contains a vast amount of pictures i had never seen before, with a wealth of detail that should impress any fan of the band who also has an interest in rock instruments. A most impressive work . I would definitely recommend this one.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Great book describing every step of the band's career (and also solo careers of its members) and all the gear used.
Awesome descriptions and pictures of every Tele ever used by Keef (and the rest of the stuff...), down to specific alterations, repairs, tunings and scratches. Also lot's of interesting background facts regarding every instrument, and the recording sessions and tours they were used on, interesting for both the band's fans and instrument aficionado (also lot's of info on guitars but also amps, basses, drum kits, the mellotron,...).

The book's size makes it a bit dificult to manage but the large and detailled pictures more then make up for it.

Great buy, worth it's price (even at 40£)!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
This big and weight book doesn't talk only about all the musical intruments and accessories The Rolling Stones used along their 50 years of career begining from the first LP and going forward each LP they made till the last one, but it's also full of a lot of photos of members of the band playing his own musical instrument or showing his own accessories used also for realseas, there are also big photos especially about guitars with the descriptions of all the details of that guitar and you can find also small photos especially of guitars with written in a very small way the price and the webside where you can buy the item you like.
I've never seen a so well done book like this !!!
BELIEVE ME: DON'T MISS IT !!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
Gained the impression this tome was a reference table, hopefully indexed, but it is more of a ramble though history dropping snippets of information along the way, be they first hand, second hand or fabled. The reader needs to trawl through to find what he wants (and ultimately it may not be there...). An interesting read but not a reference book, in my opinion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
This is the most complete muscisian's guide to the Stones around and I am sure will prove to be THE 'definitive' one.
With in depth stories of recordings and anecdotes I never heard before, and I've been a Stones fan for a long while.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)