Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The Art of Last of Us is a wonderful art book to Naughty Dog's latest game. I also have the Uncharted 2 art book and I love that book. I love this one too.

This book is packed with character designs and environment art. The concept art is top notch.

All the characters and infected are drawn out in detail and colour. There are various designs for each character. Lots to see. The infected, if you have not played the game, are not traditional zombies. They have been infected by some deadly fungus that grows and consumes the human body. You get to see some interesting and scary designs that you would not get from typical zombies.

The environment art are painted with astonishing amount of detail that makes everything seem so real. There are the devastated towns, rundown buildings, deserted streets and ransacked rooms. Most scenes depicted will make you wonder what the hell happened there. The level of realism you see here is unmatched even by big budget movie sets.

Spoilers appear in the book either as text or pictures. So definitely play the game first before going through the book. Other than that, there's not much text except the occasional comments on the art and game.

This is a fantastic video game art book. Highly recommended.

Oh, play the game first if you can.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
There can be no denying the intricate, delicate and amazingly crafted world The Last Of Us created. It is one of the most powerful concepts in gaming to this date, and for that reason alone I was almost compelled to purchase this book, and it can straightforwardly say that this only extends the love I have for the Art & Design team at Naughty Dog.

Firstly, the contents are as follows:

Large matte-style hardback book with an Introduction by Neil Druckmann and Bruce Straley, then chapters consisting of:

- Joel And Ellie
- The Journey
- The Infected
- The World
- Marketing
- American Dreams

Each chapter showcases some form of design evolution for either characters or environments, from the first ideas to, for example, different looks and outfits for the finalised characters which you are familiar with, all set out as a pure showcase of art, with minimal annotation. For those who are familiar with these kinds of art books, this is pretty expected and normal stuff.

However, what really sets this book apart from others, and what makes it one of the very best in my opinion, is the standard of art and design shown. All art books are impressive, but there is something really quite fascinating and special about the content in this one. Some of the design concepts and mood drawings are some of the very best that I've ever seen for, well, anything really. They are so evocative and moving i'm not surprised that the final game has such a well pulled off vision, as it would be hard not to be inspired.

Really, it is hard for me to emphasise that enough - Although the character design sections, though interesting, are not exactly something to write home about, they are placed between amazing, powerfully evocative and very talented pieces of art and design conceptualisations. the vast majority of which are some of the best I've ever come across.

Certainly, I'd be hard pressed to mention another art book that is as emotionally drawing as this one. It is very involving, incredibly powerful and endlessly impressive in its scope and talent.

Beautiful, evocative art & design from a beautiful, evocative game.
I would recommend to all fans of the game with no hesitation at all. Again, it one of the finest art books (in terms of the quality of content) that there is.

(And just a small point to note, for those who haven't yet completed the game, this will contain spoilers)
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
The title says it all really, the character artwork and the scenery is absolutely stunning. Its brilliant to see how the characters were developed into their final guises for the game itself. Loads of pictures of the whole cast including the various stages of the infection. Inspiring stuff and a perfect addition to what I think will be the game of the year.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
Asa 15 year old, i dont actually have any other artbooks, so i wasnt entirely sure what to expect. i mainly bought this because well, the game is AMAZING, and having the Joel Edition, i saw a glimpse of artwork and decided to buy the full thing - im also considering things like character design/illustration as perhaps a future career, being somwthing of interest and desire.

This artbook really helps you to appreciate the little details in last of us more than you would already, things like lighting (obviously) and those extra little unrequired details that hint to you the lifestyles of hunters and fireflies - right down to the basic clothing. its also quite amazing how initial infected designs changed so much to what they are now. Although, i wish there was a little more on the character development for David than just 1 or 2 pages.
and to those wondering, this does have more than mini artbooks that came with Joel/Ellie Edition and it also includes some more things that arent included in the in-game concept art bonuses.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
The Last of Us is one of the most impressive achievements in video games in recent years, and wonderfully represented by this fantastic book.Packed full of beautiful artwork, of exquisite detail. A worthy addition to any bookshelf, especially fans of the game and/or concept art. Don't read before having completed the game, as spoilers are found within.

As a collector of 'Art of' books, I can say that when compared to others, the artwork found in this is astounding, there was clearly a huge effort to produce a game of stunning beauty, and I always find myself appreciating the smaller details even more after reading these art books.

Highly recommended.
33 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Excellent. This is a great book that shows off some of the art and design work behind the videogame, that is usually unseen by the public. Its shows just how talented the artists at Naughty Dog are, and it's fascinating to see how the characters and locations evolved during the game's gestation. The concept drawings of locations being reclaimed by nature are simply stunning. Be warned though, as is to be expected, for every beautiful and heart warming sketch of the lead characters, there is a detailed rendering of the infected. So... perhaps not one for the coffee table, depending on your friends and the presence of young children in your home. You've been warned!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Amazing item and a certain must have for TLOU fans. It is brilliant to be able to see how the characters were adapted and different looks were tried and tested before making the final cut. Coming from someone who is a big fan of the game, as well as interested in art, I find this book to be a perfect addition to my collection.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
There aren't many games as taut, engaging and enjoyable as The Last of Us was, a action-adventure survival horror video game developed by Naughty Dog and argueably the jewel in Sony's crown of exclusive titles. A dark vision of a pandemic ridden United States, a post apocalyptic world devoid of hope and ravaged by desperation, in the 3 times I played through the campaign, along with Bioshock and Infinite, it was the most emotional and memorable experience I've had in my 20+ years of gaming, because the visuals and environments are so realistic, the story so immersive and the characters so desperate, distressed and relatable, you care about what happens to them, that's what made The Last Of Us such a haunting experience, from initially being detached and reticent, our two protagonists (wonderfully brought to life by exceptional voice acting and motion capture) develop a Father/Daughter relationship, after surviving and aiding each other through desolate and scarring situations, they reveal more about each other and what they've had to do to survive, and after 3 years that's what has stuck with me, that these characters were prepared to do anything to make sure the other one was safe and alright, those actions for some reason really resonate inside of me, selfless, unselfish decisions made by a character more concerned with the well being of others than themselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
When I pre-ordered this book I wasn't expecting much apart from the usual concepts from games. But this book gives the reader and insight into the world Ellie and Joel have to endure on they're travels. From Character Profiles to Abandoned Buildings this book really makes you feel as if you are in the environments that are portrayed. Excellent Work Naughty Dog!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013

The Art of The Last of Us, Nice art work and best book. Best game of PS3. Best of the game 2013
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here