Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
63
4.9 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2016
Wonderful package, very fast delivery. It just arrived and the art book is great!
Excellent quality and as a fan of The Last of Us I'm full of joy for this fan service.
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Great book. I love the art. It's great to flick through for a fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
It's exactly what I was expecting it to be, great piece about the designs of the game and great quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Love, Love, Love this book. So detailed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
There can be no denying the intricate, delicate and amazingly crafted world The Last Of Us created. It is one of the most powerful concepts in gaming to this date, and for that reason alone I was almost compelled to purchase this book, and it can straightforwardly say that this only extends the love I have for the Art & Design team at Naughty Dog.

Firstly, the contents are as follows:

Large matte-style hardback book with an Introduction by Neil Druckmann and Bruce Straley, then chapters consisting of:

- Joel And Ellie
- The Journey
- The Infected
- The World
- Marketing
- American Dreams

Each chapter showcases some form of design evolution for either characters or environments, from the first ideas to, for example, different looks and outfits for the finalised characters which you are familiar with, all set out as a pure showcase of art, with minimal annotation. For those who are familiar with these kinds of art books, this is pretty expected and normal stuff.

However, what really sets this book apart from others, and what makes it one of the very best in my opinion, is the standard of art and design shown. All art books are impressive, but there is something really quite fascinating and special about the content in this one. Some of the design concepts and mood drawings are some of the very best that I've ever seen for, well, anything really. They are so evocative and moving i'm not surprised that the final game has such a well pulled off vision, as it would be hard not to be inspired.

Really, it is hard for me to emphasise that enough - Although the character design sections, though interesting, are not exactly something to write home about, they are placed between amazing, powerfully evocative and very talented pieces of art and design conceptualisations. the vast majority of which are some of the best I've ever come across.

Certainly, I'd be hard pressed to mention another art book that is as emotionally drawing as this one. It is very involving, incredibly powerful and endlessly impressive in its scope and talent.

Beautiful, evocative art & design from a beautiful, evocative game.
I would recommend to all fans of the game with no hesitation at all. Again, it one of the finest art books (in terms of the quality of content) that there is.

(And just a small point to note, for those who haven't yet completed the game, this will contain spoilers)
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Art of Last of Us is a wonderful art book to Naughty Dog's latest game. I also have the Uncharted 2 art book and I love that book. I love this one too.

This book is packed with character designs and environment art. The concept art is top notch.

All the characters and infected are drawn out in detail and colour. There are various designs for each character. Lots to see. The infected, if you have not played the game, are not traditional zombies. They have been infected by some deadly fungus that grows and consumes the human body. You get to see some interesting and scary designs that you would not get from typical zombies.

The environment art are painted with astonishing amount of detail that makes everything seem so real. There are the devastated towns, rundown buildings, deserted streets and ransacked rooms. Most scenes depicted will make you wonder what the hell happened there. The level of realism you see here is unmatched even by big budget movie sets.

Spoilers appear in the book either as text or pictures. So definitely play the game first before going through the book. Other than that, there's not much text except the occasional comments on the art and game.

This is a fantastic video game art book. Highly recommended.

Oh, play the game first if you can.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
The title says it all really, the character artwork and the scenery is absolutely stunning. Its brilliant to see how the characters were developed into their final guises for the game itself. Loads of pictures of the whole cast including the various stages of the infection. Inspiring stuff and a perfect addition to what I think will be the game of the year.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
Asa 15 year old, i dont actually have any other artbooks, so i wasnt entirely sure what to expect. i mainly bought this because well, the game is AMAZING, and having the Joel Edition, i saw a glimpse of artwork and decided to buy the full thing - im also considering things like character design/illustration as perhaps a future career, being somwthing of interest and desire.

This artbook really helps you to appreciate the little details in last of us more than you would already, things like lighting (obviously) and those extra little unrequired details that hint to you the lifestyles of hunters and fireflies - right down to the basic clothing. its also quite amazing how initial infected designs changed so much to what they are now. Although, i wish there was a little more on the character development for David than just 1 or 2 pages.
and to those wondering, this does have more than mini artbooks that came with Joel/Ellie Edition and it also includes some more things that arent included in the in-game concept art bonuses.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
There aren't many games as taut, engaging and enjoyable as The Last of Us was, a action-adventure survival horror video game developed by Naughty Dog and argueably the jewel in Sony's crown of exclusive titles. A dark vision of a pandemic ridden United States, a post apocalyptic world devoid of hope and ravaged by desperation, in the 3 times I played through the campaign, along with Bioshock and Infinite, it was the most emotional and memorable experience I've had in my 20+ years of gaming, because the visuals and environments are so realistic, the story so immersive and the characters so desperate, distressed and relatable, you care about what happens to them, that's what made The Last Of Us such a haunting experience, from initially being detached and reticent, our two protagonists (wonderfully brought to life by exceptional voice acting and motion capture) develop a Father/Daughter relationship, after surviving and aiding each other through desolate and scarring situations, they reveal more about each other and what they've had to do to survive, and after 3 years that's what has stuck with me, that these characters were prepared to do anything to make sure the other one was safe and alright, those actions for some reason really resonate inside of me, selfless, unselfish decisions made by a character more concerned with the well being of others than themselves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£27.29
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)