Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 18 August 2013
I purchased the original copy and again I have not been disappointed. There are lots of tips for the DIY enthusiast, and you do need to adapt bits and search a little harder for some parts in the UK. If you hadn't gathered by now this is an American publication, though the safety aspects and the science behind the many different projects are generally universal.
Take special note to the amount of area required and the environment we are in, especially as there is much more space available in the US in which to launch your project.
There is something for everyone but I would suggest this is very much for the adult audience with enthusiastic support from you teenager!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2014
My son devoured this book the instant he opened it on Christmas day and spent the rest of the holidays finding bits of drain pipe and other oddments. Thank goodness he is back at university now, so any experimenting can happen there! Definitely an inspiring read for a budding engineer!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2016
Fun book. Perfect present for my brothers. Not quite dangerous enough for them, but I am sure they will find a way to modify the builds!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2016
This book was bought for my 16 year old son, and ended up as the blueprint for an amazing themed barbeque evening !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2014
My grandson and I love this book. He is only 4 years old so we are sticking with the easy stuff for now. Far better than colouring in!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 November 2001
A handbook for bored, thirty-something children (like myself) on how to make potato cannons, tennis ball mortars, catapults and the like from the comfort of their garden shed.
Twelve projects from the ridiculously easy to the fairly time consuming, packed into 169 pages of juvenile playhem. Good instructions, clear pictures and photos, and all done with the emphasis on safety.
There is also a fair amount of explanation concerning the actual physics behind the projects and a look at historical figures such as Newton and Archimedes.
0Comment| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2004
A superb, but sadly probably marginally legal in my jurisdiction, introduction to the destructive delights of the hairspray powered potato gun amongst many, beautifully detailed little projects.
For all of us who watch "junkyard wars", or as we have it "Scrapheap Challenge", this book is a rallying call to visit the plumbers supply house and detonate some spuds.
The book is strong on details, suggestions for further "research" and lots of pertinent history.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2014
If you want to build simple or complex devices to launch stuff this is a book for you. The more complex kit is all sized in imperial measures but some things are universal like pringle cans.

We have built a couple of the devices listed in here but don't underestimate the complexity and time it could take you to build the more complex stuff. Even the pringle tennis ball mortar is something that takes a while, and copious amounts of duck tape, to build. I think the results can be a little hit and miss for things fuelled by spray or lighter fuel but when it works well it is glorious, even if you can't find your tennis ball again.

The book is well written with clear explanations of the physics, and the compromises needed when building devices to shoot things and decent diagrams. There are warnings in the right places about safety which are worth heeding.

The big question is whether a pneumatic potato cannon or lighter fuel tennis ball mortar is legal under UK law. If you live in a big city then making loud bangs might draw some unwelcome attention so we obviously haven't made any of those devices in this country. Plenty of more permissive places exist though. :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2016
Have only used it for a few cannons and found the American measures a pain. Having to convert every material used in the descriptions to metric, then buying the nearest metric equivalent not knowing whether that will mess up your funal cannon or not, is a barrier to using it on more occasions. Of the 3 tried none have worked as well as it says in the book. This I guess, is as much to do with my total lack of engineering and hands on experience than the book itself. Would have given more stars if they'd bothered to "translate" it into British English and measures.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2011
A great book for when your board or those raining days which we have allot of in Wales. A lot of projects to make on your own with friends or family. Over all a great book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse