Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2014
Great read. Read it in one go. I am not a tattoo fan but this story had supernatural twists. Would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2012
I really enjoyed this book and have recommended it to several friends. I knew nothing about body piercing or tattoing and found it fascinating. But the main thing about the book is its a really good story and well written
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
wanted to read and read this book,twist and turns all the way ,very believable. supernatrual, love and detective xxx x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
A potentially interesting scenario but ultimately this book fails to develop the central theme in anything other than a predictable and disappointing manner. Little more than an extended short with little substance.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
I really enjoyed this book it made me think (which isn't always a good thing) good characters brilliant story loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
A well written book took me to both good and bad places but only in my head...thoughtfully written with compassion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
Exciting and great thriller. A good story with a strong message. Couldn't put it down such an unusual crime story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
What a fantastic book I thought the story line was pure brilliance I could not put the book down thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Definitely different, started off really well and became interesting but then alas a little predictable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
Wow! What can you say about A GOOD AND USEFUL HURT? It's a book that flirts with being both a love story and a thriller. In reality it's both of these as well as a tale of the supernatural with a helping of contemporary horror, an unsettling journey into the twisted mind of a serial killer and a vivid exploration behind the scenes of a tattoo parlor that may well answer the question that some have pondered for quite a while, "What makes people want to tattoo and pierce their bodies and what significance do those tattoos/piercings hold for their wearers"? Particularly fascinating was the idea of clients mixing a portion of the ashes of a deceased loved one into the ink being used for a tattoo in order to feel nearer the dearly departed.

Davis has created a very unconventional protagonist in tattoo artist Mike and presents an unusual glimpse into a world that Stephen King would undoubtedly feel quite comfortable visiting. The fact that the only central character in the novel whose surname appears more than once is the killer is telling. Perhaps it was Davis's intent make the tattoo parlor group more relatable hence the reason they are referred to as just Mike, Deb, Lamar, Becky, Doc, etc. (as you would refer to a friend). While the lives of this group are just a bit south of what most folks consider normal and average, author Aric Davis manages to subtly draw you into their world and causes you to continually adjust your thinking ultimately seeing them not as weirdoes or outsiders, but as folks who possess a deep commitment to one another and whose lives are filled with love, laughter and friendship.

Overall, I must admit that some of the language and stomach-flipping brutality is not what would normally appeal to me or be part of my chosen reading material but I must also confess that like someone unable to tear their eyes away from an accident scene, A GOOD AND USEFUL HURT had me hooked to the very last page. I'm torn between three and four stars so let's make it a 3 1/2.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here