Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
41
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2016
Definitely A MUST HAVE for every hand spinner who is interested to understand different fleeces. Great guide which I keep handy all the time. Will help you to understand and find the most appropriate fleece for your project. Worth every penny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
This is a brilliant book to keep in my spinning bag. There is a great summary for most of the sheep you can think of.
There is more detail in some of the bigger books, but the small size means that this is a great book to take out and about .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
This was an informative book about sheep fleces and their uses, but was very disapointed that it didn't include information about felting abilities of each fleece. This would have really made it a brilliant book. Perhaps an update could include this with needle felting becoming one of the fastest growing crafts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2016
I bought this to take with me to Woolfest in Cumbria this year, as it was recommended as being small enough to fit in a handbag easily - I haven't been disappointed as it is packed with the most useful points about all kinds of fleeces I might find - and want to try. Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
Unfortunately the felters have been left out!!!! No info whatsoever for felters and as a wet, nuno and needlefelter always looking for fleece I will give this book a miss. Felting is a big movement these days and there are certain breeds that are difficult or impossible to felt so some info would have been invaluable Back to trial and error and help from other felters. Shame.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
As a spinner and indie dyer,I have the larger 'Fleece & Fiber Sourcebook' and found it too heavy to flick through out and about.
This one is perfect! I also like the little spaces left for notes.Very handy when wanting a quick reference book, would be great to shove in a handbag for fibre festivals!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Based on the Fleece and Fibre Source Book this little book is handy enough to pop into a bag or pocket if you're looking to buy your fleece at a show. I measures just 5" x 7" and is 232 pages of excellent information. It covers the origin of the sheep, fleece weights, staple length, fibre diameters, natural colours and crimp. Also a glossary of terms if you're unfamiliar with them. It gives colour photos of both the sheep and the fleece it produces and whether it's suitable to spin or felt and also how it takes dye. All in all a great little book worth it's weight in gold.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
I have this in kindle and paper back. I have found it invaluable for choosing fleeces for spinning. It's actually very interesting as well - as it has a little bit about the history of each breed as well as their fleece details.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Very good idea, a pocket guide to fleece and is the smaller version of its very big brother. Great to take to shows, groups, farm visits etc. a must for all fleece people who buy it to spin, felt, weave, craft etc. Excellent pictures and info.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 January 2015
Brilliantly useful book! I love this book. It's such a handy size to carry, it offers you so much information and there is nothing missed. It's easy to find the breed you want and all the information you need about each fleece is provided. If you are a spinner or you just want more information about the wool you use then this book is ideal. It tells you everything from the length of the staple to what the best uses are for the wool. I love the fact it even tells you the best way to prepare you fleece for spinning and how well the fleece reacts to dyes. There is even space provided for you to add your own notes. A highly recommend for any spinning, weaver, knitter or crocheter!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)