Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2014
I don’t quite know where to start when describing this book. It’s unlike any I’ve seen and is a big mix of many things. The author has featured 70 well know designers and quilters in the book, profiling some, featuring techniques and advice from others and featuring full quit projects from others. So basically you will learn lots about modern quilting, from the experts from inspiration through to practical techniques.

It is more than just a book telling you how to make quilts, it gives you history, inspiration, advice. You will recognise many of the names of the contributors – Aneela Hoey, Anna Maria Horner, Valori Wells, Thomas Knauer, David Butler, Kaffe Fassett, John Q Adams, Katy Jones etc. It is like the who’s who of modern quilting! The advice doesn’t just stop at quilting either, there are tips on blogging, starting a business and opening a shop. I think you get a huge amount of information for the price, if you are interested in modern quilting you will love it.

This review also appears on The Sewing Directory.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
I am so pleased I ordered this book. It is a feast for the eyes, inspiration on every page. It gives a brief introduction to many familiar names in the quilting design world with glorious colour photo examples of their work, interspersed with various tips and quotes. It's the sort of book you can open at any page and immerse yourself in. I love it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
The book is about modern day quilters, their styles and inspirations. Not a book about designs of quilts and instructions.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
Great book on different types of making patchwork quilts. Shows a great deal of different authors and makers. Approaches modern concepts with different roots. A really good introductory book on different processes of quiltmaking, with a couple projects in it. I call it my mini-atlas!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Stunning book! Was so excited when it arrived - it's a really fascinating book - I can't wait to read it from cover to cover and cannot wait to start the quilts it inspires you to make
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
I bought this for my daughter for Mother's day (any excuse) she was hinting that she would like it.. She's very, very pleased!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
Interesting and informative. The examples really aren't that modern or innovative but it will make a great classroom resource.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
A really good book for learning how to bring quilts up to date. Clear instructions and good projects.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
A lovely coffee table book. Nice to pick up and dip into. inspiring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
Can't get enough quilting books, yet another useful guide
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)